Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is possibly the best carrot cake recipe I have found to date. Moist and delicious, and the icing is great too. I tried Sam's carrot cake recipe and it was good but this had more "wow!" to it despite fewer ingredients. I did a few changes recommended by others: 3/4 c oil and 1/2 c applesauce, 1 cup each white and brown sugar, and 1 extra tsp cinnamon and a dash of cloves, nutmeg and cardamom ( which I love in anything with cinnamon in it also). I also had to use 1 c wholewheat flour because I ran out of all purpose, and it had great texture. I will use this as my go-to recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I actually only needed the icing part of this recipe. Simple and cream cheesy deliciousness. I even ended up adding those pecans cause I thought the picture was pretty. One day when I have time to make a homemade from scratch cake, I will give this a go. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JustAnInterest
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made this as my first carrot cake ever for a family easter party, surprisingly it was enough for my big family and they all loved it! I told them all to give me honest answers and they all said it tasted amazing, mine i put into 2, 9 in. Pans and put icing in the middle and on top and i put pecans around the edge and then some near the middle and crushed walnuts sprinkled on top of the cake also i substituted all the pecans for walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Very moist cake. I decreased the confectioners sugar to 11/2 cps. , since I didn't like it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I followed the directions of the commenter who had summarized all their changes so I can't comment on the original recipe. The cake turned out delicious and was a big hit at Easter - carrot cake and bunnies just go together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made it for Easter Celebration with my family and it was a huge hit. Did the 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar thing and added more cinn and nutmeg, bc we like those flavors a lot. So so so so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Added pecans 1c coconut and boiled raisins in Oj b4 adding to batter. Baked 350 40 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellyfeeder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe had way too much oil. You could see the oil that had drained out when you lifted a piece of cake from the serving plate. However, I thought the taste was good. I would add more carrot and flour. Or decrease amount of oil instead of adding flour. Will try making it again with these changes! Friends liked it, especially the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
PERFECT AS IS!!! I made NO alterations and the cake is fantastic. Better than any restaurant cake, best carrot cake I've ever had, and I'm always in search of a good carrot cake. Make alterations if you must, but rest assured, as is, its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cg
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This recipe made as is = 4*s It's a perfect base for opportunity depending on your tastes and preferences. With minor adjustments, this cake can be as versatile as you need it to be. Anyone can make this their own 5* cake. I do, every year. Thank you, Tammy Elliott, for sharing this recipe. You are the reason so many of us are enjoying our own perfect version of this delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 4,286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States