Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Vicki Coulston Tovar
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
For my first Carrot Cake I have made, it's great, one of the best carrot cakes I have eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Sugar: Use 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. ADD 1 cup raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Great carrot cake! Did not use nuts due to allergies. Used 1/2 white and brown sugar, substituted applesauce for 1/2 cup of oil, added extra 1 tsp of vanilla and cinnamon and added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and 8oz of crushed pineapple (drained). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I've made this recipe several times because once someone tries it, they want me to make it again. No substitutions are needed. I have tried it with 1 c white and 1 cup brown sugar and it's great that way too. Adding fresh grated nutmeg gives it another great flavor boost. I've packed in extra carrots and extra pecans and last time I ran out of vegetable oil and used about 1/3 c canola to supplement. Still great! It is a lot of oil, but not too much and the oil crisps up the edges of the cake. The only thing I do differently is the frosting. It falls in the center when you move it before it's done! Let it cook! If it does fall, give the center to the frosting lovers. I don't like cream cheese frosting at all, so I use the recipe with a package of vanilla pudding whisked into 1 cup of milk, with an 8 oz tub of cool whip and a tsp 1 tsp of vanilla mixed in at the end. That's my preference though and in no reflects the yumminess of the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Easy cake.. Followed recipe as is.. Skipped pecans though.. Used pulp from juicer after making some carrot apple juice.. Only used about 3 cups of powdered sugar for frosting and it turned out nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I have made this cake two years in a row for my boyfriend's birthday and he really does enjoy it. I also like it and carrot cake is not my first choice. The only reason I am not giving it a 5 is because he told me this year that it could use a little more carrot; so next time I make it I will just add 4 cups instead of 3 cups. The frosting is delicious as well and it comes out very moist and tasty. Would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This recipe was simply divine! I made some adjustment as one of the reviewer suggested. Added crushed pineapple, some nutmeg, an extra tsp of V extract, and cinnamon. I also substituted one cup of white sugar with brown sugar. I like golden raisins so I added about 1/4 cup. This paired with cream cheese frosting was so good. Even my little ones gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Elvira Cartledge
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
It's one of the best cakes I've ever made. I followed some reviews and doubled the spices and added raisins. And I put only 2 cups of sugar in the icing. My husband absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvira Cartledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Tastes so good... My friend and his fiance loved it it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
It is great as written! I made no changes to the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States