Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This recipe was amazing. Made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. Someone commented "this would be on the menu at my restaurant". Even my lactose intolerant cousin couldn't resist and after one piece said it was so worth eating that she had seconds. The best carrot cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luana Jursza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
horrible. not sure why everyone else is raving about it, when they've all made tweaks to the recipe. waayy too much oil and not enough flavor. what waste of ingredients..this was very disappointing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
WAY too much sugar in original recipe. I cut the frosting to 2 cups of sugar and the cake to 1.5 cups of brown sugar, and that's plenty of sweet for most people. Also, added more vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg like previous reviews suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
A lot of times I read the modifications suggested. I did not this time based on the excellent ratings. My cake fell, it was too oily and despite adding more cinnamon and some ginger it still didn't do it for me. I have been baking for years and never had these issues. I compared it to another recipe I have but did not use and it uses less oil and less sugar than this recipe. Most likely I will not use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Centralia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dan
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Turned out great! Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I made it almost as written, we didn't have pecans so I added another cup of carrots. It is excellent, even better the next day. The flavor of the frosting is great, the texture a little grainy, that's my mistake, didn't beat it long enough I think. It would be helpful to know how long to whip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I have made this Carrot Cake lll many times exactly as the recipe is written. EVERYONE loves it and is always requesting it all year around. I can truly give it five stars because I feel that when a reviewer is giving a 5 star review it means the recipe as written is worth it. So, now let the person who shared with us this wonderful recipe for carrot cake get the credit for a really awesome recipe as written. Thank you Tammy Elliott!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Best Carrot Cake recipe ever made. Can't go wrong here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This is a great carrot cake I've ever made! My friends and my boss ....they love it soooo much! every time we had a friends gathering they ask to make this recipe. thank you so much!Tammyl Elliot! for this wonderful recipe ! God Bless you More!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This must be a great recipe as it is. I made a few major changes to make it a bit more nutritionally friendly. It turned out denser than probably expected but very flavorful. I split the flour with cashew meal/flour, used coconut oil, and coconut sugar. I used lemon extract plus a ½ t instead of vanilla in the frosting to go with all the coconut flavor from the cake. Personally, I didn't eat much frosting because of the butter, but I tasted and I liked it and more important, I got good feedback from the carrot cake fans. Consider this carrot cake LVIX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Longe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 4,348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States