Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as written, with no changes at all, and it was amazing! Best carrot cake I've ever made. Thanks for this perfect recipe! Everyone in my family loved it (even my 7 year old who had to be forced to try it). It's so strange to me that so many people completely change then recipe, then rate it. If you've changed or substituted half the ingredients for something else, then you're not really rating this recipe at all. Just submit your own! Your version might be great, but it's a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Way way way too sweet. Entirely too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DianaV
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Great recipe ! Didn't change anything !! Followed everything as the recipe says ! Turned out great ! My boyfriend and my friends love the cake ! Don't change anything !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stanley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I made this cake exactly as it is written in the recipe (except for the nuts) for Easter. I'm a pastry chef in an upscale restaurant and everyone said what an exceptionally tasty carrot cake this was. I did end up adding additional cream cheese to the recipe to get the flavor I liked for the frosting on a smaller scale it'd be easier to reduce the amount of butter to 1/4 cup. Also using a combination of both powdered and brown sugar in the frosting is a nice touch. This is my go to carrot cake recipe for or menu now. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Flasher, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I have been using this recipe since 1964. only we had a black walnut tree so we used black walnuts instead of the pecans. gives it an unusually extra punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tammy
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Simply amazing! I adore carrot´s cake and this one is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I agree with Tracy...why do people feel to change up the recipe. Either you like or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Morgan-Docter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This is the one! I made this twice and each time it was the most delicious carrot cake. Making for Easter this year, can't wait!!! I used two 10 inch cake pans to make a layer cake which looks very impressive! I also followed advice from gbeanie: 1) using 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar 2) adding an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract **3) I did not use pineapple**4) Added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg 5) added 1 extra teaspoon of cinnamon 6) used 3/4 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly....everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I have been making this recipe for a few years now and my whole family LOVES it! They request me to make it for them all the time in fact my cousin asked me to make cupcakes for their baby shower coming up. The only change I've made was to cut the icing recipe in half because I leave it in the pan and always had way too much left over =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Pyke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 4,441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States