Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
It's awesome the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calistoga, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Ah-MAY-zing! This is the first cake I have successfully made from scratch! I, like many people, read lots of reviews, and I did make a few tiny adjustments (more vanilla, more cinnamon, a hint of nutmeg, and half brown sugar), but I made no major changes to the recipe. I even used the amount of oil called for....and it was perfect. Moist, spicy, flavorful, and the frosting was fabulous! I used the exact amounts called for and whipped the fool out of it in the stand mixer. I have avoided cake making for a long time, because I had never been able to make a good one from scratch....that is, until today. Thank you so much for the recipe and the confidence. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by lucianna
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Amazing and super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
The frosting was way too sweet and had a gritty texture despite how well it was mixed. Cake was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I didn't make the cake, but the icing recipe is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
The only issue I've been having so far, is the cake is sticking to my pan. I really wanted to use a mini bundt cake pan to make individual carrot cakes and the cake crumbled. I also added raising and and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. Going to make a 3rd attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Wonderful recipe - I made this for my husband's birthday and it came out great! The only reason I didn't give it a full 5 stars was because the frosting was a bit too sweet for our tastes. It was still great, but pretty sugary. Also, despite greasing and flouring my pans (I used two rounds), the cakes stuck quite a lot. I was able to pry it out and put it back together though. The cake was moist, flavorful but not too spicy and very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I've used this recipe for about 8 years and it's my husband's absolute favorite. It is excellent as is, but what I've done a bit differently over the past couple of years is add 1/8 tsp cinnamon to the frosting and an extra tsp of vanilla. I also add an extra tsp of vanilla to the cake mix. I've also recently started using coconut oil (for baking) instead of vegetable and it's great. It's an equal substitution with the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie Staley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
followed the recipe with changes suggested by gneebeanie, outstanding. Best carrot cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was the first time I've made carrot cake. I made the recipe as written and took it to Thanksgiving at my in-laws. It was a hit! Very moist and the frosting wasn't too sweet. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 4,364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States