Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
i followed this recipe as written, but omitted the pecans. used my food processor to grate the carrots. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I am not a fan of carrot cake. I made this because someone requested it. I followed the recipe exactly and viola! It's the best carrot cake that anyone has ever had! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
best carrot cake ever.....i made it gluten free and you couldn't tell the difference because it was so moist.....loved it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I baked the cake as it was written. I liked it well enough, but it was almost too moist. It ended up kind of mushy textured for lack of a better way to describe it. It also didn't seem to have much carrot flavor, but it was a good spice cake. The frosting was also ok, not great but ok. As written it was a very thin/runny frosting and didn't really work for what I wanted. Worth trying if you like super moist spice cake with a hint of carrot. -1 star for not really being much of a carrot cake, and -1 star for it being a little too moist and the runny frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as it was written except for the nuts because my husband cant eat them. This cake was unbelievably moist and delicious. I didn't give it 5 stars because of the amount of oil that is in the cake. Next time I make it I am going to substitute applesauce for some of the oil. It does not taste oily, just trying to live healthier. I did cream the eggs, oil, sugar and vanilla first, then in a separate bowl mixed together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Then added the flour mix to the wet. I stirred just enough to blend then folded the carrots in. I did it this way to minimize the amount of stirring while making sure all ingredients are fully mixed in. This was a very good recipe and I will absolutely make it again. Thank you very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkey473

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I'm not a fan of carrot cake because it was the only cake my mom made when I was a kid. But my boyfriend loves them and I made these into cupcakes for his birthday. They were a big hit with the family and even I liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This recipe is wonderful. Went through the reviews and the general consensus was to reduce the oil, substitute some of the white sugar for brown and extra the cinnamon and vanilla. I also added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. So, I reduced the oil by 1/4 cup, did 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar, added one extra tsp of cinnamon and vanilla, substituted walnuts for the pecans and it turned out great! Also for the icing I reduced the confectioners sugar to 3 cups instead of 4. The results were outstanding. I wasn't sure about the 3 cups of carrots, so I just added one pound. Next time I may just try 2 cups of confectioners sugar for icing. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this cake, and it was so oily that I was embarassed to serve it. REDUCE THE OIL TO HALF A CUP AND IT WILL BE OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I also chose this recipe because it didn't have pineapple in it (like one other reviewer). It looked like it was the closest to my Mother's recipe, which I've lost. I thought it was terrific! I made it just as shown, and I can't imagine any carrot cake being better. Thank you Tammy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ak baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
this is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 4,185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States