Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I just tried this recipe, I baked it in three small pans and the middle was all squishy and the cake looks super oily. the flavor is pretty ok, but the texture is just really weird. I've been baking for a while and I know it had nothing to do with the way I mixed everything together. I followed gneebeanie's tips except for the apple sauce part. Maybe that will make a difference, I just don't know if I want to waste so many ingredients again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I love this recipe, but I did not follow the recipe as written, because I do not use vegetable oil. I substituted 1 cup butter, and added 1/4-1/2 cup applesauce and decreased the sugar in the cake by 1/2 cup. I also added a sprinkling of allspice. It was fantastic! for the frosting, 4 cups of sugar waaaaay too much, so I decreased it by half and doubled the other ingredients. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by syreeta j.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years. People rave over how delicious it is. A few notes: If the cake will be frosted, I reduce the sugar to 1 cup. Also I reduce the oil to 1 cup. I find that 1 1/4 makes the cake almost wet. Lastly, sometimes the cake makes my tongue feel weird. Possibly the baking powder is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
It's fabulous! To make it moist and heavenly as I've been told I added 5-6 cups of carrots instead of 3 (makes it super moist), an extra tsp of cinnamon, and extra tsp of vanilla and a pinch of nutmeg. Carrot cake connoisseurs think that this IS by far the BEST carrot cake they ever had. Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I love carrot cake, but I'm allergic to nuts and seldom find one without, also I am just starting to bake from scratch and have been very nervous about it. This recipe was THE BEST EVER carrot cake I have ever tasted (not just saying that because it's mine-lol). I read other reviews on this recipe and although there are some great suggestions, I followed this one just as is (minus the nuts of course)...and OhEmmGee just DELICIOUS. I will surely make it again :-) Thank you much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
A go to carrot cake if one ever needs one. Quick, easy, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
try 325 degrees; 55-60 minutes; 2 1/2 - 3 cups sugar; 1 lb carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
So yummy. I'm a carrot cake lover and thought this was a great recipe. Pretty easy to make other than grating all the carrots, but soooo worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe was perfect the way it was written. It was the first carrot cake I have made, and I didn't do any alterations. The recipe was extremely easy to follow and the whole family loved it! I'm definitely saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
One of the best receipes ever! Everyone loves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 4,271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States