Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I have made this recipe for years. Only giving 4 stars since my recipe calls for 1/1-2 cups of oil and 3/1-2 cups of grated carrots. This slight difference makes a big difference in how moist the cake is. Also I use chopped walnuts instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Taste wise this cake is lovely, however I found the sponge to be quite dense, I personally prefer a light, fluffy sponge. I'm not sure if I done something wrong during baking or whether everybody's cakes turned out like this! Definitely still worth making though as it's a very nice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Sacco
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
More vanilla, more cinnamon, and half amount sugar . Super amazing cake :-) thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Sacco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I made the cake according to the recipe and was pleasantly surprised how fluffy and light it was because I accidentally grounded rather than grated my carrots. (My all-in-one has circular openings that look like a grater, but actually grounds) Oh well. It's my first time making carrot cake at home, so I'm used to the dense, moist, almost-wet carrot cake you buy from the store. The recipe was simple & my friends loved it! I threw in a handful of raisins instead of the pecans. I didn't have time today, but next time, I'll soak them in rum first, add a little ginger, & . I haven't tasted the frosting yet though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ze Young Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This is a fantastic recipe and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I just made this recipe and used cake flour instead of all purpose. I had one small issue in it overflowing and taking a bit longer than the recommended time to bake (it was still pretty raw by minute 30). I love carrot cake and I thought I would try it out. It is good, aside from a small bit of one note flavors (all I taste is egg and cinnamon). My recommendation is to use a really steep baking dish but other than that it came out pretty well. Looking forward to frosting it. Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Orozco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steph
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
have made this now about 4 times, and is one of my favorites, didn't alter a thing except added a little whipping cream on top for decoration purposes only.Very easy to make, was worried that it was too watery and would never set, but patience is a virtue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crewe, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
The center of the cakes turned a different color and the taste was bland and the cake was too oily. If I could do over I would get rid of the baking soda, and replace some of the oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Shulan
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maumelle, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made this for my son's birthday and it was a huge hit. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Made as written exactly. Fairly dry. While I like the frosting, others thought too sweet. Sorry, won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 4,448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States