Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by annie
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I am so not the baker but for Easter I wanted to surprise my family and wow it worked. This cake was easy to make and tasted absolutely amazing. I followed the recipe exactly changed nothing. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
followed most of gneebeanie suggestions except I didn't use the pineapples they suggested. I did the following 1) using 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar 2) adding an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract 3) Added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg 4) added 1 extra teaspoon of cinnamon 5) used 3/4 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup applesauce 6) For the frosting, 3.5 cups of powdered sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyChef
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I made this for my family's Easter brunch dessert and it was a hit! I made the alterations suggested by many of the reviewers and summed up by "gneebeanie"(thank you!) and it was moist with just the right amount of sweetness. I did not use pineapple however due to allergies and added a little more apple sauce as a sub. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Excellent cake. Followed exactly!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Good try for a carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Jorgensen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
It was good but a little plain. I did use 3/4 C oil and 1/2 C applesauce. Next time I'll add in more cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Perfection. For me, carrot cake is best with no yucky raisins or nuts or pineapple. I had to add a 1/2 tsp of allspice because I like it. And I used cake flour. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Love, love, love this. And, it is yummier the next day. All the spices seem to have time to develop flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Thank you TracyH!!! I totally agree. I want to know how the recipe rates exactly as written. Not with all of these stupid comments and changes people love to brag about as if they know what other people would like. They end up changing almost the entire recipe to where it is a completely different dish. People, if you are so inclined to make all of these changes, put your own recipe out there for us to rate. Otherwise keep your changes to yourselves. Stop messing with other peoples ideas. This cake was outstanding exactly as the recipe was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I made this as written as I agree with others that far too many changes are made on the existing recipe leaving me puzzled on how to make a recipe that has gone through so many changes. This is a good cake as written. The center did collapse which would keep me from making this for company and lowered my rating as I noted this happened to others. It was moist and had a good flavor. Now if I WAS going to change anything I would add a little more spice but that's just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephaney Hodges
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Great recipe, but I used raisins instead of pecans and the icing I could eat all day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephaney Hodges

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 4,460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States