Carrot Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
Great alternative to the high fat version, very moist. Next time I will add zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is now my permanent carrot cake recipe.I love carrot cake but hardly ever made it because it was so high in fat with all that oil.Now I can "have my cake and eat it too";and not feel guilty.My dad absolutely loved it;he said it was even better than the Costco carrot cake.(which is amazing because in our house you can't get better than Costco carrot cake.(up until now that is)I will definately be making this again and again;My family asked for seconds and thirds and with a cream cheese icing and sprinkles it makes a great birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
For all you Weight Watcher people, this is a keeper. I was amazed at how good this cake turned out. I only made half a cake to try it out before I made a full one to take to work for my WW co-workers. I can't wait to share it with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I thought for being low fat, this was very delicious. Other reviews were right, it was dense and moist, but I thought that was the best part about it :) My husband is not a big cake eater(he always wants pie for his birthday), so imagine my surprise when I actually saw him going back for another slice. My kids, however did not like this. LaDonna ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Im sorry but in my opinion this should not even be called a cake. It was heavy and too moist (which in this case is a bad thing.) I would rather have a full or reduced fat carrot cake and enjoy it than suffer through this. The only thing stopping me from giving it one star is the fact that it is low fat so it has an excuse for being so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
It was dense and moist - I liked the texture - but there was a funny aftertaste. I think it might be the wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
we did not care for this. Texture is very strange and I make low fat low cal recipes alot. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Simply delicious! I loved this recipe, and so did everyone else! Even my husband who does not usually eat low-fat foods. I tried the regular version of carrot cake, and this may even be BETTER than the regular, more calorie version. :-) I am glad I found a low-fat recipe, without compromising the taste. (I did add frosting, tho it would have been dee-lish even without it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This is an excellent low-fat carrot cake recipe. It was a little too moist for me, but I didn't get any complaints. I added a 1/2 tsp. of salt, 1 Tbsp. wheat germ, fresh pineapple instead of canned and also some coconut. It was very tasty. I definitely couldn't tell it was low-fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Excellent recipe! I received many compliments on this cake. Many appreciated that it was so low in fat. (3 points per piece for those of you on Weight Watchers). I substituted part of the sugar for Splenda and only used 1/4 cup of nuts and raisins each. Very moist and tasty, especially with a low fat cream cheese frosting. I've frozen 2 pieces and will review how those worked out when I defrost and sample them. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States