Carrot Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Good recipe. Cake comes out moist and tasty. One caveat: the recipe says to leave the cake in the oven for 60-70 minutes. This is too long. I put my cake in a 10 inch bundt pan for 60 minutes at 350 degrees and the cake was overdone. Next time I plan on checking the cake at 45-50 minutes to test for doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I was searching for that perfect carrot cake recipe, and I seem to have found it! I chose this one after looking through the recipes on this site and the reviews. However, I did go along with some of the suggestions to reduce the amount of vegetable oil. I used 3/4 c. and the cake turned out moist with no oily taste. I also used 1 cup w. sugar and 1 cup brown sugar rather than all white. I opted for walnuts instead of raisins. It came out perfect in a 8X12 inch pan for 40 minutes in 350 degrees. I didn't try the glaze icing and went with the suggestions for the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe. I love cream cheese desserts and even though I used 95% fat free cream cheese it still tasted flavorful and rich. Awesome combination. Rave reviews came from all who tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I reviewed several recipes and choose this one. I made it for my new bride who loves carrot cake. The cake was INCREDIBLE. She says it is the best carrot cake she has ever had. The flavor was so wonderful and the cake was extremely moist. I think the cake gets better with sitting and allowing the raisins and spices to ferment into the cake... for several hours prior to serving. I recommend adding a bit more nutmeg then called for and I also added 1 teaspoon of genuine mexican vanilla to the batter as well. Mmmmmmm Enjoy this recipe. This cake will make many new friends for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I reduced oil to 1 cup and used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. The cake turned out very good and moist. I will be making this again, it is now my favorite carrot cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
My husband loved this cake, I thought it was too wet. DO NOT ADD ANYMORE THAN 3/4 CUP OF OIL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I baked it in a 9x13 pan for 40 minutes, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Hi I'm Tyler. My friend and I had to make carrot cake for our science project. We both thought it was not only delicious, but the best carrot cake we had ever tasted. One of the other teachers came into our classroom to sample some of the food and asked for a slice of our cake. He then asked us what the "orange" things were and after we told him that they were carrots, he said that he didn't realize that carrot cake actually had carrots in it. After we stopped laughing, we realized that he wasn't kidding! Anyway, the whole class loved it and the entire cake went in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I used regular raisins soaked in rum, and added a few walnuts too. Really moist and tasty. I didn't make the frosting this time because I didn't have the cream cheese on hand. Next time I'll try the frosting too. This recipe beats the dried out stuff we get at the grocer's bakery any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Wow a keeper for sure. I used 1 cup of oil and 1 c brown sugar and 1 c white sugar, also I baked at 350 40 minutes in 9x13. I also used cream cheese frosting. Tip: I use a Kitchen Aid chopper (any chopper will do they sell some at Walmart mini choppers for $5 on black friday) I put my carrots in there and pulse until finely chopped, work as well as shredded and a lot easier. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Based on previous reviews, I made some changes: 1/4 oil with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1 cup white sugar, 1 cup light brown sugar. I also used the cream cheese glaze as written. This cake was a hit at a recent party. It had just the right amount of moistness and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States