Carrot Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I made this today for my husband's birthday, his favorite is carrot cake and I have never made it before. I also reduced the oil to 1 cup, added a tsp of pure vanilla, and I did not use raisins. I cooked it in 2 round pans for about 30-35 minutes. I used the cream cheese II recipe. It was simple delicious. He loved it and so did my kids who never eat the cake, but only the frosting. It was moist and flavorful. Oh la, la, Wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is the first time I made carrot cake from scratch and it was easy. I opted to use 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 1 cup of oil and didn't add raisins. They came out really moist. I made them into cupcakes and brought them to my son's playgroup. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Addicting. I followed a reviewer's advice to reduce the oil to 3/4 cup. The cake was dense, but not as moist as i would like so perhaps i shouldn't have taken out 1/2 cup of the oil. didn't have raisins on hand. still, a wonderful cake. i used Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Fantastic, moist cake. I also reduced the oil to only 1 cup, and used light cream cheese. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
friends and family who tried this cake loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I was searching for that perfect carrot cake recipe, and I seem to have found it! I chose this one after looking through the recipes on this site and the reviews. However, I did go along with some of the suggestions to reduce the amount of vegetable oil. I used 3/4 c. and the cake turned out moist with no oily taste. I also used 1 cup w. sugar and 1 cup brown sugar rather than all white. I opted for walnuts instead of raisins. It came out perfect in a 8X12 inch pan for 40 minutes in 350 degrees. I didn't try the glaze icing and went with the suggestions for the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe. I love cream cheese desserts and even though I used 95% fat free cream cheese it still tasted flavorful and rich. Awesome combination. Rave reviews came from all who tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
this is very good can make one pumkin roll one apple butter pumpkin pie and whats left in the can i make this. it is very beautiful and i cadd all kids of stuff to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILMZKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
very good, but very heavy. Not going to fit into my diet more than a couple times a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This was the first time I've ever made carrot cake from scratch and it was delish. So moist!! I'm giving it a 4 star instead of 5 because I, like some other reviewers had a hard time getting the cake out of the bundt pan. One section of the cake got stuck in the pan and broke apart. I scraped as much off the pan and tried to put it on the cake. With the frosting you didn't even notice it but it was annoying that it got stuck...especially since I generously sprayed the pan with baking spray. But otherwise, it was a really good carrot cake and I will definitely make it again. Maybe next time I'll try a square pan instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I reduced oil to 1 cup and used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. The cake turned out very good and moist. I will be making this again, it is now my favorite carrot cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States