Carrot Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
excellent recipe! the ideal carrot cake, I took the suggestions and used 1 cup of oil and it came out great! I also used vanilla frosting instead of cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Overall this is a great recipe. I gave it 5 stars even though I altered it with some of the suggestions from other users. I used only 1 cup of oil and to be honest if I used the amount it said it would of been to wet and heavy. I also used a cup each of white/brown sugar. I didn't use the icing instead I used the cream cheese icing II. Everybody loved this cake and said it was one of the best carrot cakes they had ever had. Thank you for the recipe and suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoLinex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Absolutely wonderful...loved by kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIHANNA
Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I didn't have the cream cheese to make the frosting for this cake, so I used a vanilla buttercream and it turned out great. I also used a sheet cake pan to cook this in,1 tbsp of sour cream, and 3/4 cup of oil like others suggested. still moist after 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I made this today for my husband's birthday, his favorite is carrot cake and I have never made it before. I also reduced the oil to 1 cup, added a tsp of pure vanilla, and I did not use raisins. I cooked it in 2 round pans for about 30-35 minutes. I used the cream cheese II recipe. It was simple delicious. He loved it and so did my kids who never eat the cake, but only the frosting. It was moist and flavorful. Oh la, la, Wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is the first time I made carrot cake from scratch and it was easy. I opted to use 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 1 cup of oil and didn't add raisins. They came out really moist. I made them into cupcakes and brought them to my son's playgroup. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Addicting. I followed a reviewer's advice to reduce the oil to 3/4 cup. The cake was dense, but not as moist as i would like so perhaps i shouldn't have taken out 1/2 cup of the oil. didn't have raisins on hand. still, a wonderful cake. i used Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Fantastic, moist cake. I also reduced the oil to only 1 cup, and used light cream cheese. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
friends and family who tried this cake loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I was searching for that perfect carrot cake recipe, and I seem to have found it! I chose this one after looking through the recipes on this site and the reviews. However, I did go along with some of the suggestions to reduce the amount of vegetable oil. I used 3/4 c. and the cake turned out moist with no oily taste. I also used 1 cup w. sugar and 1 cup brown sugar rather than all white. I opted for walnuts instead of raisins. It came out perfect in a 8X12 inch pan for 40 minutes in 350 degrees. I didn't try the glaze icing and went with the suggestions for the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe. I love cream cheese desserts and even though I used 95% fat free cream cheese it still tasted flavorful and rich. Awesome combination. Rave reviews came from all who tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States