Carrot Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Simone
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This carrot cake has been quite a hit! I've made three of them so far--one was requested as a gift for a party where it received many compliments. I reduced the sugar as suggested and used 1/2 white/brown sugar. In the last 2 cakes I did, I'd run out of white flour and decided "what the hay" and used whole wheat. The whole wheat actually came out better and I highly recommend it. Additionally, I did not use the frosting recipe. Instead, I made a simple sugar glaze using powdered sugar and water--about 1 to 1 and 1/2 Cups powdered sugar mixed with 2 Tablespoons water. Poured over top and allowed to cool for about an hour in the fridge. Non-dairy and just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bianca
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Great and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My Pot Luck
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I didn't reduce the oil. But...i exchange 1/4 cup of olive oil mix with 1 cup cooking oil. And i add 5 eggs not 4 as in the recipe. The cake turned out to be very delicious, not oily at all. Also i add more nutmeg & 2 tablespoon of rhum..It gave more fragrant and rich flavor for the cake. One more thing...i bake it in the convection microwave oven 180 celcicius for 80 minutes. It bake perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Pot Luck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Oh my gosh - I felt like I really knew what I was doing and it was beautiful & delicious for Easter! Thank you!! (3/4c oil, 1c white, 1c brown, 2 8x12 pans, cream cheese frosting II)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I too, used 3/4 cup oil, and 1 cup brown sugar-1 cup white sugar, and no rasins. I added about 3/4 cup walnuts, too! It was outstanding! My family loved it and I gave the recipe to my daughter and daughter-in-laws. Even all my grandchildren ate a slice with walnuts in it! I made it in a bundt pan. It made a beautiful presentation with the white cream chees frosting drizzled over the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was fabulous. I left out the raisins because I'm just not a fan. I also skipped the glaze and went for readymade buttercream frosting. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
A terrific recipe just as written. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I might try this recipe again because I think it might just be my crappy baking skills, but my cake smelled like popcorn. I have no idea why. It also had a funny texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This cake is DELICIOUS although I followed some tips from some others used 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 regular and 3/4 cups of oil instead of 1 1/4 and I made it in a bigger Pyrex rubbed it down with shortening didn't stick at all cuts without any trouble So moist and it tastes amazing!!! had to make more frosting because of the size of the container I made it in but no biggie tasted till it was perfect! If you are going to make a carrot cake, make this one! Also, cooked at 350 for 35 minutes, 60 and it would have been burnt here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Good recipe. Cake comes out moist and tasty. One caveat: the recipe says to leave the cake in the oven for 60-70 minutes. This is too long. I put my cake in a 10 inch bundt pan for 60 minutes at 350 degrees and the cake was overdone. Next time I plan on checking the cake at 45-50 minutes to test for doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States