Carrot Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
YUM...MOIST...GREAT cake! Well worth making! Pared down the oil to 1 cup, then doubled the recipe for a large two layer baby shower cake, will omit 1/2 tsp of baking soda next time. I was afraid from how it smelled that it would have a baking powder/soda taste...it didn't! But I will make that adjustment as a test if I double the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Southern Lady Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Yummy....loved this. It was moist and just the right sweetness. I took a shortcut and used canned cream cheese frosting. Very dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I combined this recipe with the design for easter suprise cupcakes...I am serving them tomorrow for my family & my fiances family. My mom loves carrot cake so I wanted to make her some special cake AND have it available for the whole family...she tried it tonight and loved it! The glaze tastes wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpidlaoan4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Pretty good Carrot Cake. I made it in a 13 x9 pan but still came out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Really good! Cut the oil back to 1 cup, but otherwise left the recipe alone. My glaze turned slightly beige because I used too much vanilla, but didn't affect the taste at all. Husband liked this as well... so it's a keeper. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Excellent!!! I made it for my birthday and I am crazy about the taste of it!!!It will be one of my favorite cakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corfu, Ionian Islands, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Based on previous reviews, I made some changes: 1/4 oil with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1 cup white sugar, 1 cup light brown sugar. I also used the cream cheese glaze as written. This cake was a hit at a recent party. It had just the right amount of moistness and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
SO good!! I tested the recipe first by making it for 4 servings... and I ate it all in one sitting!! I substituted Agave syrup for the sugar, and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Simone
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This carrot cake has been quite a hit! I've made three of them so far--one was requested as a gift for a party where it received many compliments. I reduced the sugar as suggested and used 1/2 white/brown sugar. In the last 2 cakes I did, I'd run out of white flour and decided "what the hay" and used whole wheat. The whole wheat actually came out better and I highly recommend it. Additionally, I did not use the frosting recipe. Instead, I made a simple sugar glaze using powdered sugar and water--about 1 to 1 and 1/2 Cups powdered sugar mixed with 2 Tablespoons water. Poured over top and allowed to cool for about an hour in the fridge. Non-dairy and just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bianca
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Great and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States