Carrot Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Yummy! My husband, who's very hard to please, even had seconds of this. I did decrease the oil to 1 cup instead of 1 and 1/4 cups. I also baked this in a 9 x 13 pan - it took about 45 minutes. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This recipe sounded so good, I got all the ingredients from the store and hid them for several days just to bake this cake as a surprise for my husbands birthday. I followed the recipe exactly, poured the batter into a normal-sized bundt pan (it filled it 2/3 of the way full), and put it into my 350 degree oven. About 20-25 minutes into the baking process, I noticed some smoke coming from my oven --- the batter had boiled over (a LOT) and was dripping heavily onto the rack below and the bottom of my oven. Needless to say, I am sitting here smelling my burnt, deflated masterpiece until everything is cooled enough to clean up. And my husband has to pick up a store-bought birthday cake on his way home from work. Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
I give this recipe 5 stars because it is so very forgiving. I made it late one night for my family to have for breakfast the next morning because I was out of every kind of breakfast food. I didn't use accurate measurements (just kind of eyed it) and I made a few little substitutions...and it was sooo good! The frosting was great too. This will end up as one of those recipes that I memorize and use as a starting point when I want to create something new. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
It's the best!!! This cake is amazing! I have made alot of carrot cakes in my life -- but this one "takes the cake" Thank you for a wonderful receipe! Lee Updated information: I continue to make this incredible cake, and continually asked for the receipe! Everyone LOVES it! Thanks so much again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
AWESOME recipe!!!! Extremely simple to make. While baking the smells will have you drooling, and the first bite of cake is all that you imagined and more! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
I just finished baking this and as it was cooling, I took a piece to test it out. It tastes like oil! Way too greasy and very sweet! I thought the carrot to flour ratio was off (3:2 cups), but I just kept on going (thinking it might work out) and boy, there was more carrots then cake! I made this to bring for work, but after testing it, I doubt I even want to leave it home for my family to try it! Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Hi I'm Tyler. My friend and I had to make carrot cake for our science project. We both thought it was not only delicious, but the best carrot cake we had ever tasted. One of the other teachers came into our classroom to sample some of the food and asked for a slice of our cake. He then asked us what the "orange" things were and after we told him that they were carrots, he said that he didn't realize that carrot cake actually had carrots in it. After we stopped laughing, we realized that he wasn't kidding! Anyway, the whole class loved it and the entire cake went in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I thought my Oma's carrot cake recipe was the very best-until I tried this one. We give it 5 stars! Outstanding!! Thanks so much for sharing! Got any more recipes you'd like to share? If you do have any more recipes, JAZZY-GIRL wants to try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
We loved this with pecans and extra cinnamon!! We took this in our lunches all week. A fresh yummy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynseey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
this carrot cake is so delicious. I had found it a while ago and I tried it for a family gathering. They ate both cakes and everyone wants me to make it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States