Carrot Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
To echo everyone else, these are delicious! I am vegan, so I replaced half the butter with Earth Balance (vegan butter made with healthy oils) & the other half with unsweetened applesauce to cut the fat. Used 4 Tbsp. ground flaxseed mixed with the liquid from the crushed pineapple to stand in for eggs. This added fiber & heart-healthy fats, as well! :) I also made just a couple changes to suit my tastes & to make them slightly healthier. Used 3/4 c. evaporated cane juice + 1 Tbsp. molasses instead of brown sugar. Threw in some nutmeg, ginger, allspice & cloves to add more spice. Topped with a lemon vegan cream cheese frosting & this complemented the cookie flavor very well! Perfectly chewy & cakey, and a really convenient way to eat carrot cake. I can't wait to share these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
EXCELLENT!!! I had some leftover cream cheese II frosting (from this site) and wanted to use it up and didn't have enough to frost a cake. These are just wonderful. I thought 2 tablespoons of cinnamon was a misprint but it is not. I also added 1/2 tsp. allspice. did cut down on the nuts and raisins to 2/3 cup each and it was plenty. They bake up beautifully and taste so nice. Very pretty too. With the creamcheese frosting, they are ever so wonderful. **3/4 cup shredded carrot=2 smaller size carrots. Can't wait to give these away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This is a great recipe! The cookies are better a day after. I added an extra tbsp of cinnamon, more carrots and cream cheese icing with cinnomon spinkled on top! My co-workers loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I have tried different cookie recipes with varying results. The resulting cookie batter seemed that it would not make a proper cookie but much to my surprise they came out wonderful with a pleasant chewy texture of pineapple and walnuts which I really like. I put ginger in also to give it a nice flavor which also saves on my cinnamon. I will make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I made the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting from this website and made sandwiches with these cookies with the frosting as the middle. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
These are awesome! I used less walnuts and they turned out great. It's like having carrot cake in a more portable format - a good balance between chewy and cakey. I put cream cheese frosting on them which was good, but you could go either way. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
These cookies are fantastic! I added some vanilla and nutmeg, frosted with a cream cheese icing. Will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
The batter was very liquidy so I added 1/3 cup flour, but they turned out a little dry. Next time wouldn't add extra flour... but they have a very nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I took these to a work party today and they were the first thing to disappear off the buffet table. Absolutely scrumptious!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Very good cookies. Not beautiful and they definitely need cream cheese frosting, but a dynamite cookie with the frosting. I used the Cream Cheese II frosting from this site (cut in half and I still had leftover frosting) and they were a huge hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States