Carrot Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was my first attempt at making any type of carrot cake or cookies & I'm making these for everyone for Easter. These tasted like cake because they're so fluffy & soft, but are a cookies. I made a lot of changes because I didn't have a lot of the ingredients plus personal preference & I've always thought the pineapple in all the carrot cake recipes was weird so I never tried. Here are my changes, I 1/2 the recipes because I never make a full batch the 1st time I make anything. I omitted the pineapple, raisins, nuts. Added 1 cup carrots & snuck in 1/4 of sweetened shredded coconut I love coconut but others dont, also added 1/8 nutmeg. 1 cup reg flour, 1/2 cup wheat flour. All butter, no shortening. & everything else the same for the cookie dough. Frosting I created my own & used confectioners sugar, I slowly added heavy whipping cream & a dash of vanilla. I frosted the tops of all the cookies & I absolutely looooved these. I know I cant rate the recipe off of my changes, but thank you for the recipe & thanks to the4taals because without that review I'd have been lost with too many carrots on my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These cookies are always a hit and always the first to go at a gathering!! My favorite cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Soooo good! I made these for our annual family BBQ and they were a hit,everyone was raving about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
My husband loves these. They went over well at our Easter brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Needs more carrots, more spices. Light and moist but bland and not many carrots in this carrot cake. Frosting was also too sweet for me. I think I will try it again..but needs changes so only a three as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Absolutely loved these. What a great way to change up carrot cake. I followed user reviews and doubled the cinnamon and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I also added about 2 c carrots and omitted the pineapple and raisins. Delicious. Used extra frosting to pipe carrots on top and they were beautiful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
There were SO easy and good. I took to work with sugar cookies for Easter, and everyone loved them! Very moist, great flavor--definately will add to my file to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Searched for these on a whim today and was glad to find this recipe! Sorry for all of the changes, but I tried it, and then adjusted accordingly--I upped the amount of salt to 1 tsp, doubled the cinnamon and added 1/2 tsp of apple pie spice, and used all margarine instead of butter and shortening mix. I also omitted the pineapple and raisins (preference) and 2 1/2 x the carrots. I only made half of the icing, using cream instead of pineapple juice, and it was plenty for the amount of sandwiches. I would like to try subbing in some oats for part of the flour next time, so it's got a slightly different texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These were very tasty and puffy whoopie pies! I used whole wheat flour, omitted the pineapple, raisins and nuts as my kids are carrot cake purists. I did double the grated carrot, added a 4 oz jar of baby food carrots, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice as it wasn't spicy enough for us. I used a 1/8 cup scoop made 46 cookies or 23 sandwiches, baked 16 minutes on silpat lined sheets. 1 tbsp scoop made 96 cookies, 48 sandwiches, baked in 13 minutes. Filling 4 oz cream cheese, 1 tsp butter, 1 tsp cream, dash of vanilla and cinnamon, 2 cups icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by monty
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
WOW. Used way more shredded carrots (like 2 cups total) and added some nutmeg, everything else was the same. I honestly didn't have high hopes for these, but they were AMAZING. Just as good, maybe better, than carrot cake (and I loooove carrot cake). I'll definitely make these again. They were a hit with everyone. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States