Carrot Cake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by abaverville
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
We love this cake. My two little ones helped me bake it into a bunny cake. We used a cream cheese frosting. I did have to bake it 30 minutes total. I used two round pans. Then I cut the one cake into a bow tie and ears. Then I cut strawberries to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
If you are looking for a great carrot cake this is it! Do not make any changes & then give it a different rating because you "made it better"! If you don't care for the calorie/fat content then DON'T use this recipe, look for a low-cal alternative & rate that recipe accordingly or submit your own creation... with that being said... Awesome! Super easy to make & I am always asked for this recipe. I've been using this as my go-to for years. You can bake this as a true cake or cupcakes (which is what I normally do). I frost with a cream cheese frosting and add crushed pineapple to it and it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loretto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Kids loved it. Cheaper alternative to baby food carrots is pureed steamed carrots. Just steam 2C baby carrots and put them in the blender. Other things I snuck in with the pureed carrots: juice of 1/2 orange, 1/2C applesauce, 1/2c grated coconut flakes. Added 1/2 C oatmeal to the flour. Doubled the spices. Threw in 1/2C raisins too. Baked same amount of time (30mins). Turned out perfect bars - moist and cakelike, but held together. Not gummy at all! Top with kefir cheese frosting or cream cheese frosting if regular frosting has too much sugar for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very moist and delicious. If you are looking for the typical, more dense version of carrot cake, this isn't that. It is very good and I plan to make again, but it does not take the place of the original carrot cake. As others have said, it is similar to applesauce bars or banana cake bar in texture. It was definitely enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy14_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Made this for Easter exactly how the recipe read. More like a spice cake and not as hardy as a carrot cake should be. Very good and would make again if I needed something fast and not time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I made this for a grad party and it was a huge hit. Several people asked for the recipe. Reading other reviews, I cut back the oil by 1/4 cup and it was still very moist. A lot of people thought it was a pumpkin cake, so the carrot baby food flavoring was not spot on, but still it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This is so amazingly moist and good. I used dehydrated carrots that I blended. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I make these bars for my husband every year on his birthday - they are his favorite. We tested several carrot cake cupcakes around town for our wedding reception and couldn't find one that we really liked, so my grandma tried this recipe out as a cupcake and they turned out great! She made them a week ahead of time, put them in the freezer and when thawed you couldn't tell they weren't from a bakery - they were still moist and delicious! So, a special thank you to Linda for this great recipe! Not the healthiest thing in the world but they were great for our wedding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
These are absolutely delicious!! The only thing I changed was to substitute baking powder for baking soda (as there are no acidic ingredients in this recipe). I had this recipe from a community cookbook, but was a bit afraid to try it until I saw it posted here. Thank you for listing the exact pan and jar sizes needed. Many thanks for the recipe--it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States