Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
It is the best carrot cake I have ever had, and so simple to make. I brought it to a potluck and everybody wanted the recipe. I like the fact that there is less oil than most carrot cakes and it is still so moist. kdh862004 who wrote that it was carrot soup, may not have left it in the oven long enough, it does take quite some time to cook, and it often depends on the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal0
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Awesome!!! So yummy! Huge hit! Will definitely make again! Modifications as recommended by other reviews: 1 C brown sugar and 1 C white sugar, 3 C confectioners sugar instead of 4 for frosting. I used sweetened flaked coconut, wasn't sure as it wasn't mentioned. I will try unsweetened next time and see which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This was good, but a tad bit too sweet. May need to scale back on the sugar in this one. I may omit the coconut next time also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Awesome recipe. Made this more than once and have gotten nothing but compliments. Hands down one of the best carrot cakes I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Gagliardi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Excellent cake. Meaty and satisfying. Took only 40 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This is my absolute go-to recipe for carrot cake and cream cheese frosting. With that said, I must say that 15 oz of pineapple is too much for making a traditional round cake with more than one layer, as it is too moist and will cause the top layer to collapse. A word of advice for more flavor - split white sugar into half and use brown sugar as the other for more depth. Drain and pat the pineapple well to ensure that the cake doesn't topple. Sift the flour to create more air in the cake since a whisk can only do so much. Refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight if making cake layers and don't bother trying to make the frosting absolutely smooth - cutting the cake to make smooth sides WILL NOT WORK. There are too many thick, chunky components to do so. As cupcakes, the amount of pineapple in this recipe will do well. Everyone that knows my cakes agrees that this recipe is hands down the best carrot cake ever. Thank you, Marc, for adding it to the website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by namerae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Love the balance of spice, not overwhelming like I've had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacecadet0512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly Pond, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sipsey, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
PERFECT! Just made it and the whole family raved about it! Because my husband has celiac disease ( no wheat) I used gluten free wheat and it still turned out perfect!!!! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Very yummy & filling. Only changes: decreased sugar to 1 1/2 cups; did 1/2 oil & 1/2 applesauce; omitted the coconut & added toasted coconut on top instead. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Delicious, very moist and everyone said it was the best they ever had. I used a yogurt cream cheese for the frosting and used yogurt in place of the buttermilk as well. Added raisins instead of nuts. Other than that I would have added more cinnamon. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States