Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Glory, glory hallelujah, this cake is delicious. I followed the receipe exactly (except for the frosting), and I do believe it's the best carrot cake I've ever had. I frosted the cake with "Whip Cream Cream Cheese Frosting" from Allrecipes, which was perfect. Outstanding. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I began to put this cake together and realized I did not have enough pineapple, nor did I have any coconut! I had already mixed the the sugar oil and eggs, so I had to do something. I had 2/3 cup of pineapple, and knew I needed at least 1.5 cups. So, I peeled a juicy pear, chopped it up really fine, and did the same with a very fragrant sweet apple. Together it made another 2/3 cup of fruit. I also decided to soak a cup of raisins in 2 tablespoons Grand Marnier and 2 tablespoons boiling water. When they had plumped up, I added them with the other fruit too. To the dry ingredients, I also added 1/4 tsp of grated nutmeg, along with 1 tsp grated orange zest and 1 tsp grated lemon zest. This cake was absolutely delicious! I will use this recipe over and over. Since my husband hates coconut, he appreciated it not being there, however, I think it would only have enhanced this recipe. I strongly urge anyone to try this cake. My only criticism is that the frosting was a little bit too sweet, and I would look for a different cream cheese recipe for the the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Made this last night for hubby's b-day and it was delicious!!! It was a very moist cake. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Excellent cake. Everyone raves when we serve this cake and say that it is the best carrot cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Best carrot I hever ever had. Fixed it exactly like the recipe except for omitting the coconuts and icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
We loved it! And it's so easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The best, most moist carrot cake I've ever had the pleasure to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was absolutely DE-LISH! Everyone in my family loved it and asked for the recipe! There was enough frosting for 2 cakes. YUMMMMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Very easy. Got tuns of compliments. I left out walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! Used 1 cup less confectioners' sugar when making the frosting. Father-in-law loves carrot cake and this one ranked one of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States