Carrot Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
We love this recipe, though I changed some things. Because I had 3 cups of juicer pulp thawed out from the freezer I used that and tripled the recipe. Also, I used 2/3 cup of powdered stevia with 1/3 cup of sugar to bring the calories down. This tripled recipe made 4 medium sized loaves. The pulp consisted of 2 cups of pineapple and 1 cup of carrot. Also, I just mixed all of the wet and dry ingredients separately, then added the dry to the wet. That worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I used 3/4 brown sugar and 1 1/2 all-purpose flour since I did not have any whole wheat. I also used 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce. I used two eggs and twice as much carrot. It was not too sweet but very moist and carrot-ty. I suggest if you like it sweet, that you use the original sugar proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Great base recipe and going into my regular repertoire of baked goods for my family. I did make a few changes (I know that can be annoying), but I highly recommend my changes as well. I used all white whole wheat flour. I used 1 cup of sugar (1/2 white, 1/2 brown and a top off of dark brown- only b/c that was the last of my sugars). I also added 2 TBS flax meal and 1/4 +cup of shredded coconut because it's yummy. THe bread baked for 55 minutes and turned out wonderfully. I'm often disappointed with the use of applesauce (either too dry or too wet), but this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Very good! I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar, that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
What a great recipe! I made it for my daughter, who is a picky eater, and she loved it:) She is also allergic to eggs so it worked well in that respect also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Healthy and DELICIOUS! I only made a few changes...used all whole wheat flour, 1 egg and 1 egg white (instead of egg subsitute), only 1/2 cup sugar, and added about a half cup of raisins as well! Oh and I made them as 12 muffins baking at 375 for 15min as someone else had suggested. The whole fam loves them and I'm going to have to make more (should have doubled it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very good. I made "muffins" out of them. Used less sugar (approx. 2/3 cup) and all wheat flour. Couldn't find any applesauce at the store, so I used 1/2 cup unsweetened apple juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I tried this with the reduced amount of sugar suggested in some of the reviews - and it was not good. Use the full amount. This is a sweet bread, like banana bread, and it should be. It's good that way. Taking out the sugar makes in most unpleasant to eat, and requires a lot of cream cheese. Note that this is just as good if you double the amount of carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This carrot bread was quick and simple. Great flavor. I added raisins and baked it in a nine section mini loaf pan on 350 for 30 minutes. I put vanilla icing on some and left the others for my family to use butter or fruit spread. The other reviews were a great help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Loved this!! I changed it a few ways: I used all whole wheat flour, added 1/2 cup of sugar instead, added natural applesauce instead and used 1 egg and 1 egg white. Really moist and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chevy Chase, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States