Carrot Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I liked this! It tasted just like carrot cake. Instead of baby food, I used grated carrots. Is also a pretty healthy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Delicious! -- I made 2 modifications. As recommended by others, I added 1/2 cup of raisins. Also, I needed to use up some carrots, so I made my own carrot baby food. -- I microwaved a half bag of baby carrots in salted water until very soft, then mashed them with a mixer. (This was a little messy.) I will definitely make this recipe again but next time I will use a food processor or blender to mash up the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
This was VERY moist bread (must be the baby food), and with a lot of spicy flavor. I put both walnuts and raisins in it and the texture was great. I think the recipe is written a little wrong though. I only made one loaf with the amounts given, and I think I'd use a little more salt in it (but I'm a salt freak, so that might be completely subjective). But all in all, GREAT STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
The bread was good, but the recipe is slightly off. The first thing I noticed is that there is no mention of when to add the baby food. I added it with the wet ingredients before I combined wet and dry. Also, this only made 1 very small loaf of bread, not two as the original recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemingsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This is one of the best recipes I have ever made. This bread was gone in a matter of minutes at our house. PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
i used canned carrots. using 2 pans it only took 30mins. of course they're small loaves, good for kids though. I do think it needs the spices doubled. Kinda bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
this was good bread, but changed the recipe some. added grated carrots instead of the baby food. beat the sugar and oil together, then added the eggs. stired in all of the spices, then carrots until it was smooth, then stirred in the flour without sifting it. (actually used an auto mixer, came out sticky, may have been hard to do by hand, i don't know) prepped the loaf pans with spray and flour, filled about half way,baked for 45 mins @350, came out nice and dense, and the crust was, kinda crusty. i like dense bread so it came out awesome. a simple icing over the top mades it a tasty dessert bread, and great with butter. doubled the recipe, made 4 small loaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Great recipe! We ate it with cream cheese. I used grated carrots instead of baby food though, but I like the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie802

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Great flavor and very moist! Instead of the carrot baby food, I use a cup of pulp from my juicer. Generally, combo of carrots, apple and what ever else combined to make the juice of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This bread is ok...a bit bland. I do like it because it's not too sweet (I used brown sugar instead of white). I agree with other reviewers that the recipe is a bit off - only produced enough batter for 1 loaf. Also, the recipe recommends baking for 50-55 minutes which is way too long! mine baked fully in 35 and even then the edges are a bit crispy. Set the timer for 30 and check it then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States