Carrot Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
This was VERY moist bread (must be the baby food), and with a lot of spicy flavor. I put both walnuts and raisins in it and the texture was great. I think the recipe is written a little wrong though. I only made one loaf with the amounts given, and I think I'd use a little more salt in it (but I'm a salt freak, so that might be completely subjective). But all in all, GREAT STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This is one of the best recipes I have ever made. This bread was gone in a matter of minutes at our house. PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
The bread was good, but the recipe is slightly off. The first thing I noticed is that there is no mention of when to add the baby food. I added it with the wet ingredients before I combined wet and dry. Also, this only made 1 very small loaf of bread, not two as the original recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemingsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Delicious! -- I made 2 modifications. As recommended by others, I added 1/2 cup of raisins. Also, I needed to use up some carrots, so I made my own carrot baby food. -- I microwaved a half bag of baby carrots in salted water until very soft, then mashed them with a mixer. (This was a little messy.) I will definitely make this recipe again but next time I will use a food processor or blender to mash up the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I liked this! It tasted just like carrot cake. Instead of baby food, I used grated carrots. Is also a pretty healthy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I've made this several times, and my family and I really like this bread! My five year old son is excited when I make this. Followed the tip about making the carrot baby food, and it works great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This bread is incredible. I made 3 small loaves for a church function and received raved reviews. Very easy to make and easy on the budget.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jones Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This bread is ok...a bit bland. I do like it because it's not too sweet (I used brown sugar instead of white). I agree with other reviewers that the recipe is a bit off - only produced enough batter for 1 loaf. Also, the recipe recommends baking for 50-55 minutes which is way too long! mine baked fully in 35 and even then the edges are a bit crispy. Set the timer for 30 and check it then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This bread is so moist and delicious! My children devoured it. If I modified the recipe any, I may have used a little more carrot baby food and a little less spice to make sure my kids would eat it. Everyone who eats this bread wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Great flavor and very moist! Instead of the carrot baby food, I use a cup of pulp from my juicer. Generally, combo of carrots, apple and what ever else combined to make the juice of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States