Carrot Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookieFanatic
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was a great recipe. I substituted 3/4 cup of the all-purpose flour for whole wheat flour and used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I didn't have applesauce so I used the full amount of oil. I also added a tsp of vanilla. Turned out super moist and delicious! I served it with the Cream Cheese Frosting II (recipe on this site). Got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I baked this bread after my pediatrician suggested making these types of breads (zucchini, carrot) for breakfast to try and sneak some veggies into my toddler's diet. The whole family loved it! I substituted 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour for 1 1/4 cups of the all purpose flour, cut down the coconut to only 1 cup (many people said 1 1/2 cups was way too much) and left out the cherries and it tasted great. I made sure to use my food processor to basically MINCE the carrot, coconut, walnuts and raisins because I knew if I left them as instructed (shredded/chopped) my toddler would refuse to eat it with so many conflicting textures. It was a great call - seemed to meld the flavors even better and he gobbled it up. I HIGHLY recommend this bread to any Mom trying to be "deceptively delicious" and sneak veggies into their kids diet:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveplustwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I brought this to my small office of 8 people this morning and it was gone in less than 5 hours. Everybody who tried it loved it. I opted not to add the cherries (that kind of freaked me out a little). I was also out of walnuts (which it needed) and used golden raisins and applesauce. EXCELLENT! Thanks for the new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHEAD_T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made this carrot bread twice. I was estimating 3oz so I ended up putting in 1 cup of coconut which was good but I'll be sure to try 1 1/2 cups (as suggested by a reviewer) next time. The second time I replaced a cup of flour with whole wheat and it was unnoticable. I have a dark blue glass 9x5 loaf pan and each time it took about 90 minutes to cook, but it came out moist with a nice crispy crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
made this and it was great! im about to make a 2nd batch. i did use half apple sauce though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I doubled this recipe because it sounded so good, and I am glad I did. It looks attractive and the taste is wonderful. I am guessing it gets better after sitting a day, but that won't happen around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Very good. I substituted 1/2 the oil with apple sauce and toasted pecans for the walnuts. I did not have any cherries. For anyone that does not have a scale 3.5 oz of coconut is aprox. 1 1/2 cups. I made it in my bread machine and topped it with orange cream cheese frosting (from this site). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
I chose this bread primarily b/c I have a toddler who refuses to eat veggies so I decided to try this one given the ample amount of carrot in it .Well, baby doesn't care for it so much but my hubby and I love it .I substituted applesauce for most of the oil and didn't add walnut or cherries ...delish! the one thing I'll do next time is to pulse the coconut before adding, I find that I am not too crazy about the long strands of coconut in this bread and I like a smooth texture better. Great (and very healthy ) recipe.Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
The Best Carrot bread I ever had. Huge hit with the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This was good. I left out the coconut and cherries because I didn't have them. I had doubled the cinnamon, and we loved it. My only complaint was that it was a bit dry. Not sure quite why. I think next time I will add a little extra applesauce to it. If that doesn't work I will try adding another egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States