Carrot Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by conqueress
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
A while ago I started looking for low calorie stuff to loose weight. This was one of the selections coming up. I read the reviews, followed others and made a few changes to bring calories down. Sweetening with stevia extract I’ve been doing for a few years. There is no bulk in the extract, I used ¾ C applesauce which is also a ‘switch’ used in baking for oil or fat, so I also passed on the butter. Recently read an article about health benefits of pineapple. Someone chose to drain pineapple and add to this. I didn’t think to look at the size of can the person used, I had a 20 oz. can (ugh a lot to add!) When draining it – the pineapple juice = I cup SO I used the juice instead of water. No raisons in the house–dried cranberries that are sweetened. The extra volume with the 20 oz. Pineapple – I used 1 ½ C oat flour and 1 ½ c oat bran. These turned out good, not too sweet, texture like a brownie. The cranberry carrot combination is very good. Next time I will double the spices. About losing weight – eating no dinner or very little has shed 10 pounds in 3 weeks. These will make good breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe! I used Newman's Own Orange Mango Tango juice in place of the plain OJ. I also made a glaze with the juice and confectioner's sugar. I only used the glaze on half the bars. I found the glaze made them more like dessert. Without the glaze, they seemed an indulgent breakfast. Like other reviewers, my bars were ready to come out of the oven after 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
a little dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
VERY GOOD but I added and egg, pineapple & brown sugar. Also, I frosted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is a nice, not too sweet, dense bar or square. I used a generous cup of carrots, added a grated apple and a Tbsp of lemon juice. I left out the butter and cut the sugar in half. Instead of 2 cups all purpose flour, I used 1 cup whole wheat, 1/2 cup quick oats, 1/2 cup wheat germ. I am quite happy with it and will likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I added an egg to the batter and frosted them with cream cheese frosting. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Very good bars. My kids helped make them and even with their imperfect measuring, they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Thanks to the reviewer who made the suggestion to cook the carrot mixture in a glass mixing bowl in the microwave, then mix everything else in that bowl. So much easier and less to clean up!! I used 2/3 cup Splenda,doubled the spices, omitted the raisins, added 2 tsps vanilla, 8 oz. can well-drained pineapple, and 1 cup chopped pecans. I also used a Cream Cheese Frosting. The bars were a huge hit at a church gathering last night. The next time, i will add 1/2 cup more shredded carrots and add 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour. This recipe will be my new favorite cessert to take to pot lucks and family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I thought these would be a great snack for the kids but they were just so dense and lacked flavor. I wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I thought that this was very good. I will probably reduce the amount of cloves though. This will be good to freeze in individual portions and put in the kids' lunchboxes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States