Carrot Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was good but i found both the carrot and banana flavor to be very subtle. Overall good but nothing to wow about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was an excellent snack for the kids to enjoy while they are on their Easter break! They have gluten allergies, so I substiuted 3/4 cup white rice flour, 3/4 cup brown rice flour, 1/4 cup tapioca flour, 1/4 cup potato starch, and 1 teaspoon xanthum gum for the flour. The bread came out mosit and delicious! They couldn't even taste the carrots in it. We will be making this bread for a long time to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I have NEVER had so many compliments on a loaf of any kind. I was told that it was very light and fluffy, yet moist and wasn't too powerful with banana or too heavy like banana bread can be. I took it to a Strata meeting and it was all gone at the end..normally no one eats anything at these things! For the most part I followed the recipe, however I did double everything in order to make 2 loafs. Here are the things I changed: I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose (it was still really moist) Instead of grated carrots, I blended them in my magic bullet (you could use a blender) with some water to make a puree (it took about one small bag of mini carrots..so for one loaf it would only need half a bag) Instead of pecans I did what another reviewer had done and I added Oats. I also added some flax seed (about 1 tbls to the doubled mixture) I also sprinkled brown sugar on the top before baking It was faaaaaaantastic!!! Even my husband loved it...he thought I was trying to 'sneak' veggies in it so didn't want to try any..but he did. I really want to try it using less sugar so we can eat more of it, so that will be my next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I didn't find this bread to have a lot of flavour - neither banana nor carrot. It was ok.....I think maybe it would be better with some raisins. I do like the idea of adding grated carrots to banana bread to make it more healthy-like. I'll probably try this recipe again when I have some carrots to use up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
i did make a few subs, but is wonderful recipe nonetheless. i used carrot pulp left from juicing organic carrot juice, subbed applesauce for oil, honey for sugar, and added frozen cranberries, and doubled the pecans. it was guiltfree delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
i had this recipe for years and lost it..i am so happy to have found it!! it's a great recipe very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
good combination. i also added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Yum Yum Yum. So great. Moist and tasty. Used whole wheat flour and applesauce just for a little healthy kick. So lovely with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This bread is not only healthy and full of fiber it tastes amazing! I omitted the nuts and added oats in it's place, I also added a pinch more cinnamon than the recipe calls for. I will be making this bread alot more in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Yummy recipe! I used applesauce instead of oil, and wheat flour for the white. I also added a tablespoon of cinnamon. I finely chopped my carrots instead of grated them. I made 12 large muffins and one small loaf out of this recipe. A yummy and healthy muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivienne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States