Carrot Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This recipe produced a big, beautiful loaf that I made for Hubs to take to his fishing buddies. I used half white and half brown sugar and added 1/2 t. of vanilla. Next time I make this I want to try changing the process a bit. I think I’ll add the bananas, carrots and pecans to the sugar/oil/egg mixture and then simply fold in the flour mixture. That might make for less mixing at the end, which can often make quick breads such as this tough. I can also see adding a small (8 oz.) can of well-drained crushed pineapple. I didn’t get to taste this so I’ll have to go with what Hubs said when he got home - 5 STARS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I love the combination of banana and carrots. This loaf is so moist and totally delicious. I baked this in a Pampered Chef stoneware loaf pan, it took me 75 minutes to bake, but it was well worth it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I barely let this cool before I took a piece to try... the smells oozing out of the oven made me so anxious to try a bite! It was SO good. I loved the flavor. I made some cream cheese frosting to drizzle on the top - that made it taste like carrot cake! I will say the carrot cake flavor seemed to be less later in the day, you start to notice the banana more. But it's still a delcious bread, nonetheless! Pecans are perfect for this, so don't leave them out! I toasted quickly before adding them to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Banana bread meets carrot cake! What's not to like? This came out very moist and delicious. I did double the cinnamon and ended up baking it for 70 minutes. It worked out great for me because I had some ripe bananas and a bunch of carrots that I bought on sale and was wondering what to do with. I usually don't add nuts to banana bread, but I decided to add the pecans for this recipe and it was great - made it a lot more like carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This is a tasty, moisty bread and a great base recipe that is easy to modify. I fel it needed a little "oomph" so I make some changes. First, I used brown sugar instead of granulated sugar to add more flavor and moisture, doubled the amount of cinnamon, carrots, and nuts, and added 1/2 cup raisins. Awesome! Kids loved them, too! Instead of using the recommended pan size I made muffins (bake for 18-20 mins). This is now my staple recipe for carrot bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
For health reasons, I used 1 egg, only 3/4 cup sugar, replaced half the AP flour with whole wheat pastry flour, and replaced the oil with apple sauce. It came out really moist, and held together nicely, but with not a whole lot of flavor, and I don't believe removing the oil or reducing by one egg affected the flavor. It never has before. So I will experiment with spices and flavorings because the moistness was great and I like that it is a milk-free recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Cut down on the sugar - outcome was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I'm a big fan of this recipe! I made it exactly as written, but added walnuts and coconut to the batter because I didn't have pecans. I will make this over and over again. I like that it has a small amount of oil compared to other carrot bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
i made this for my dad and mom. They absolutely loved it. Though instead of pecans i put oats and i put the batter in a muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Made this last night in mini-muffin tins. Baked 20 minutes. Pushed down center while still on pan, then removed. When cool filled center with cream cheese frosting. AMAZING!!! Made 48 yesterday & almost gone already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalama, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States