Carrot Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I made some spicy jerk chicken and needed a cooling side dish. I had most all of the ingredients on hand so I gave it a try. My changes were minor. Used fresh pineapple, 1 large apple, skipped the raisins (didn't have any) and added a bit of vanilla extract to plain yogurt (in lieu of two different yogurts). Also used only 2 Tbsp of regular mayo instead of reduced fat. It was good. Not jaw dropping good but good! I'll make it again and add some nuts as it needed a crunch element. Not overly sweet but sweet enough. It paired extremely well with the jerk chicken. This is a keeper. Thanks Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Sorry the pineapple and the coconut were just too odd for my taste in the carrot salad. If I was a from the South and had grown up with it as most there have, I am sure it would be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
First, I had greek yogurt so I used 2/3 cup, added a splash of vanilla extract and a big squeeze of honey to the dressing. I was thinking of my mom's apple salad with mayonaise dressing and wanting something like it but a little healthier yet still delicious. Did I ever find it! It hasn't even chilled yet and I could sit and eat the whole bowl. When the flavors chill together it will be worth 6 stars. Serving it with pork chops tonight which I think is going to be a perfect pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was so great! Renewed my memories of carrot salad and made me decide it would be a great lunch substitute once in a while! Highly recommend using both the pineapple and the coconut, it's a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good. Fresh tasting and not too sweet. I used granny smith apples, and had to substitute because I didn't have all the ingredients: used only plain yogurt, orange instead of lemon juice, and no coconut. I made this for thanksgiving to use up the leftover carrots and apples in my fridge. Also made for a pretty presentation with all the different colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Morris-Vogel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was a fantastic salad. I made it for a crowd and had less than 1 serving left over which told me everyone liked it. I even had several people ask for the recipe. I used all plain yogurt (didn't have any vanilla on hand) & added 1 Tablespoon of sugar to take the place of the vanilla. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of salt & 1/4 teaspoon of celery seed to jazz it up (like others said, it was missing something) I also added chopped walnuts & omitted the coconut (personal preference). Great base that's easy to personalize. Oh & you can't even tell that its a "lightened up" version! Yum! Thanks Kim for a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Okay...nothing special. Probably if I made it again I would add walnuts. It was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My family really likes this sweet-tart crunchy salad and its a quick side for potlucks. I don't like coconut so I don't add it and I only use plain yogurt plus a dash of salt. I also shred the apples along with the carrots for a more uniform texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Good flavor and relatively easy to make, but be warned, it does not keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States