Carrot Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Made this yesterday for a brunch. Should have doubled the recipe. People were practically licking the bowl. Just a few changes to the recipe: only 1 apple, only plain yogurt - no vanilla, no lemon juice, added 1 teaspoon salt, subbed cranberries for the raisins. People asked for the recipe. I will make it again for Easter Sunday. I Thanks, Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was a fantastic salad. I made it for a crowd and had less than 1 serving left over which told me everyone liked it. I even had several people ask for the recipe. I used all plain yogurt (didn't have any vanilla on hand) & added 1 Tablespoon of sugar to take the place of the vanilla. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of salt & 1/4 teaspoon of celery seed to jazz it up (like others said, it was missing something) I also added chopped walnuts & omitted the coconut (personal preference). Great base that's easy to personalize. Oh & you can't even tell that its a "lightened up" version! Yum! Thanks Kim for a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This is a great salad! Since I only had plain low-fat yogurt and no coconut on hand, I added a packet of Sweet-N-Low to give it the final touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! I made this for my in-laws, my husband and two sons (ages 2 and 3)--everyone LOVED it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Okay...nothing special. Probably if I made it again I would add walnuts. It was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Good flavor and relatively easy to make, but be warned, it does not keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Great!! I loved it...good salad to take in my lunch when I am tired of lettuce. I didn't have pineapple so omitted it and substituted craisens for the raisens. I'm kinda glad I didn't have the pineapple, it may have made it to sweet and "dessert like".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Kobly Krieman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This is really delicious! I also added some finely shredded beet from the garden, which made for a very colorful mix! I used a bit more pineapple than called for, and craisins because I was out of raisins. Refreshing treat on a hot day and a bit hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was so great! Renewed my memories of carrot salad and made me decide it would be a great lunch substitute once in a while! Highly recommend using both the pineapple and the coconut, it's a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My family really likes this sweet-tart crunchy salad and its a quick side for potlucks. I don't like coconut so I don't add it and I only use plain yogurt plus a dash of salt. I also shred the apples along with the carrots for a more uniform texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States