Carrot Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Made this yesterday for a brunch. Should have doubled the recipe. People were practically licking the bowl. Just a few changes to the recipe: only 1 apple, only plain yogurt - no vanilla, no lemon juice, added 1 teaspoon salt, subbed cranberries for the raisins. People asked for the recipe. I will make it again for Easter Sunday. I Thanks, Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was a fantastic salad. I made it for a crowd and had less than 1 serving left over which told me everyone liked it. I even had several people ask for the recipe. I used all plain yogurt (didn't have any vanilla on hand) & added 1 Tablespoon of sugar to take the place of the vanilla. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of salt & 1/4 teaspoon of celery seed to jazz it up (like others said, it was missing something) I also added chopped walnuts & omitted the coconut (personal preference). Great base that's easy to personalize. Oh & you can't even tell that its a "lightened up" version! Yum! Thanks Kim for a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This is a great salad! Since I only had plain low-fat yogurt and no coconut on hand, I added a packet of Sweet-N-Low to give it the final touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! I made this for my in-laws, my husband and two sons (ages 2 and 3)--everyone LOVED it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Okay...nothing special. Probably if I made it again I would add walnuts. It was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Good flavor and relatively easy to make, but be warned, it does not keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Great!! I loved it...good salad to take in my lunch when I am tired of lettuce. I didn't have pineapple so omitted it and substituted craisens for the raisens. I'm kinda glad I didn't have the pineapple, it may have made it to sweet and "dessert like".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Kobly Krieman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This is really delicious! I also added some finely shredded beet from the garden, which made for a very colorful mix! I used a bit more pineapple than called for, and craisins because I was out of raisins. Refreshing treat on a hot day and a bit hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was so great! Renewed my memories of carrot salad and made me decide it would be a great lunch substitute once in a while! Highly recommend using both the pineapple and the coconut, it's a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My family really likes this sweet-tart crunchy salad and its a quick side for potlucks. I don't like coconut so I don't add it and I only use plain yogurt plus a dash of salt. I also shred the apples along with the carrots for a more uniform texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States