Carrot Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I made some spicy jerk chicken and needed a cooling side dish. I had most all of the ingredients on hand so I gave it a try. My changes were minor. Used fresh pineapple, 1 large apple, skipped the raisins (didn't have any) and added a bit of vanilla extract to plain yogurt (in lieu of two different yogurts). Also used only 2 Tbsp of regular mayo instead of reduced fat. It was good. Not jaw dropping good but good! I'll make it again and add some nuts as it needed a crunch element. Not overly sweet but sweet enough. It paired extremely well with the jerk chicken. This is a keeper. Thanks Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Sorry the pineapple and the coconut were just too odd for my taste in the carrot salad. If I was a from the South and had grown up with it as most there have, I am sure it would be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
First, I had greek yogurt so I used 2/3 cup, added a splash of vanilla extract and a big squeeze of honey to the dressing. I was thinking of my mom's apple salad with mayonaise dressing and wanting something like it but a little healthier yet still delicious. Did I ever find it! It hasn't even chilled yet and I could sit and eat the whole bowl. When the flavors chill together it will be worth 6 stars. Serving it with pork chops tonight which I think is going to be a perfect pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was so great! Renewed my memories of carrot salad and made me decide it would be a great lunch substitute once in a while! Highly recommend using both the pineapple and the coconut, it's a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good. Fresh tasting and not too sweet. I used granny smith apples, and had to substitute because I didn't have all the ingredients: used only plain yogurt, orange instead of lemon juice, and no coconut. I made this for thanksgiving to use up the leftover carrots and apples in my fridge. Also made for a pretty presentation with all the different colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Morris-Vogel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was a fantastic salad. I made it for a crowd and had less than 1 serving left over which told me everyone liked it. I even had several people ask for the recipe. I used all plain yogurt (didn't have any vanilla on hand) & added 1 Tablespoon of sugar to take the place of the vanilla. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of salt & 1/4 teaspoon of celery seed to jazz it up (like others said, it was missing something) I also added chopped walnuts & omitted the coconut (personal preference). Great base that's easy to personalize. Oh & you can't even tell that its a "lightened up" version! Yum! Thanks Kim for a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Okay...nothing special. Probably if I made it again I would add walnuts. It was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My family really likes this sweet-tart crunchy salad and its a quick side for potlucks. I don't like coconut so I don't add it and I only use plain yogurt plus a dash of salt. I also shred the apples along with the carrots for a more uniform texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Good flavor and relatively easy to make, but be warned, it does not keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States