Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Spectacular! Excellent recipe, exactly the starting point I was looking for. Two minor deviations: I was really generous with the ginger and added about a cup of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Loved the cinnamon but use sparingly. Used 2 small sweet potatoes instead of butternut squash...very good...heavy cream makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Yummy and perfect for those miserable winter days to warm you up and give you a little kick! I left out the creamand also the cinnamon, but added a few basil leaves and more ginger than listed as i love it and it tastes just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Fantastic flavor and luxurious, velvety texture. I did add a vegetable bouillon cube when I added the water. I didn't use the optional cream either so this was suitable for vegans. Everyone loved this soup and I'll make it again. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I can't get enough of this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WordsWorth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I love this soup! It's so easy, great eaten hot anytime, but also wonderful served as a cool summer soup. The only modifications I made were exchanging some of the water for chicken broth to boost the protein, and, from time to time, using frozen butternut squash for speed. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is absolutely delicious and one of the few recipes on this site which needs no modifications in my opinion. I agree with previous reviewers that no chicken or veggie stock is needed as the result is quite flavorful on its own. I also agree that a dose of Garam Marsala could be an interesting addition, although I did not try this myself (yet). People who think that the ginger is too overpowering should definitely stir in some cream or half&half before serving, it will take a bite out of the bite ;). I loved it just the way it was and will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Good creamy soup even without adding any cream to it. I felt like it needed some curry powder. I loved it with curry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Had no squash so I added one potato. Cut my ginger into 4 pieces and removed 3 of the pieces before I blended everything. This soup was just wonderful. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is a great recipe. 2 small changes that i made: As another reviewer mentioned, I took a few chunks of the ginger out of the soup before I blended it together and it still had plenty of ginger flavor. The second time I made this soup, I added 3 T. of butter to the soup before I blended it together and it took the soup from good to great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States