Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was very good, although I ended up with bits of fibrous ginger in the soup. It may have been a little older ginger. Next time I'll try grating the ginger rather than slicing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I love ginger, squash, and carrots, but this was WAY too gingery. We couldn't finish it, it was so strong, and it ended up being a waste of our food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I didn't have white pepper, or I would have used it... It has more zap than black. I liked this recipe, but I too found it a little bit lacking. I had to add a fair amount of salt to make it tasty, otherwise it just tasted like squash, mostly... It was fun to try for the first time, and I'll make it again, but I might use a vegetable broth instead of water and I'll get white pepper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
fantastic flavor, extremely lightweight. we really enjoy soups, especially on cold nights like we've had all week and this soup tasted fantastic - our only complaint is that it was so lightweight that even served alongside a big salad and chicken strips, it left us unsatisfied and scrounging for food for the rest of the evening. if you work out frequently, are pregnant or nursing, or otherwise have a high metabolism plan to serve this with a large meal. next time we'll try substituting cream for some of the water and adding more oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Love this! I can't get enough. I've made it with the squash and without. And I've had it with out the cream it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I will definitely make it again. Would give 5 stars, but I did use chicken stock as a sub for half of the liquid, added a cup of milk, plus 1 T of honey at the end before blending. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KREBECKY
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great recipe! A few minor changes...cooked 1/2 squash (14 oz) in microwave instead of oven (cut squash in half, scoop out seeds, micro for 5 minutes, scoop out inside, etc), used 1/2 chicken broth 1/2 water, added a bit of nutmeg in addition to cinnamon, used 1 T. of jarred minced ginger instead of fresh and stirred in a tablespoon or two of plain yogurt before serving. Excellent subtle flavor and beautiful color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaniger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Loved this. I substituted a cup of frozen winter squash for the butternut squash. Great time saver and flavor was similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
A great soup for a winter day. I used the whole squash, added two potatoes, one apple, and used chicken stock instead of water. I also added probably twice the amount of garlic and ginger than what the recipe called for. I omitted the cinnamon and heavy cream. The result is a mild but layered taste that is also quite healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Delicous and healthy. The ginger - A lot of reviewers say they found a 2" piece either too much or not enough ginger. The problem with the recipe is it says a 2" piece, but doesn't say how thick the piece should be. Instead, go by weight. I used a 10g. piece and found that gave a noticeable flavor. Anything less and the ginger might be too subtle. I might try a bit more next time but again, be careful not to use so much it overpowers the other flavors. Carrots took 35 min. on a slow simmer to become tender. Seasoning - If you use white pepper be very careful. It is a very different seasoning from black pepper. I used 1/8 tsp and found it too much! I dislike the taste as well which tasted much different than black pepper to me. Instead, use finely ground black pepper. You won't notice any flecks and it tastes much better with this soup. Season very gradually as it's a fine line between perfect and too much. I used more salt than I thought I would need to bring out the best flavor - 1/2 - 3/4 tsp but add slowly and taste before adding more. Another thing - When I pureed the soup it was quite thick so added about a cup of hot water to thin a bit. Total yield at the end was about 5 cups. The cream added at the end did nothing to improve the flavor but it looks nice if you pour it on carefully in a nice swirl. Otherwise it looks weird and out of place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States