Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Love this! I can't get enough. I've made it with the squash and without. And I've had it with out the cream it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I will definitely make it again. Would give 5 stars, but I did use chicken stock as a sub for half of the liquid, added a cup of milk, plus 1 T of honey at the end before blending. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KREBECKY
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great recipe! A few minor changes...cooked 1/2 squash (14 oz) in microwave instead of oven (cut squash in half, scoop out seeds, micro for 5 minutes, scoop out inside, etc), used 1/2 chicken broth 1/2 water, added a bit of nutmeg in addition to cinnamon, used 1 T. of jarred minced ginger instead of fresh and stirred in a tablespoon or two of plain yogurt before serving. Excellent subtle flavor and beautiful color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaniger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Loved this. I substituted a cup of frozen winter squash for the butternut squash. Great time saver and flavor was similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
A great soup for a winter day. I used the whole squash, added two potatoes, one apple, and used chicken stock instead of water. I also added probably twice the amount of garlic and ginger than what the recipe called for. I omitted the cinnamon and heavy cream. The result is a mild but layered taste that is also quite healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Delicous and healthy. The ginger - A lot of reviewers say they found a 2" piece either too much or not enough ginger. The problem with the recipe is it says a 2" piece, but doesn't say how thick the piece should be. Instead, go by weight. I used a 10g. piece and found that gave a noticeable flavor. Anything less and the ginger might be too subtle. I might try a bit more next time but again, be careful not to use so much it overpowers the other flavors. Carrots took 35 min. on a slow simmer to become tender. Seasoning - If you use white pepper be very careful. It is a very different seasoning from black pepper. I used 1/8 tsp and found it too much! I dislike the taste as well which tasted much different than black pepper to me. Instead, use finely ground black pepper. You won't notice any flecks and it tastes much better with this soup. Season very gradually as it's a fine line between perfect and too much. I used more salt than I thought I would need to bring out the best flavor - 1/2 - 3/4 tsp but add slowly and taste before adding more. Another thing - When I pureed the soup it was quite thick so added about a cup of hot water to thin a bit. Total yield at the end was about 5 cups. The cream added at the end did nothing to improve the flavor but it looks nice if you pour it on carefully in a nice swirl. Otherwise it looks weird and out of place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I didn't have the buttternut squash, but even without this was fantastic! Have made it multiple times, perfect cold winter soup to keep everyone healthy. Also freezes incredibly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I loved this recipe! I did a few substitutions. Mine came out more Squashy and not as Carroty. Instead of using the 1/2 medium butternut squash, I used 30 oz of canned pureed butternut squash. Maybe cutting back would have let my version retain more of the carrot flavor. Instead of a pound of carrots, I used 7 (2.5 oz) packets of baby carrots. I may have needed to add more, as my dad was not able to taste the carrots in my version. I used at least 2 tsp pepper and at least 1 tsp salt, then added more if needed. I used 1 tbsp ground cinnamon, then added more if needed. The secret of the flavor of this recipe is the cinnamon. I didn't need to add any chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I loved finding a carrot butternut ginger soup! Delicious! I pretty much followed the recipe but couldn't resist adding an apple. I also threw all ingredients in my crockpot for 4 hours--after microwaving the squash for a bit so I could scoop it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This soup is amazing! The ginger and black pepper (to taste) do give it a nice spice. Scale back if this is not your cup of tea. I left out the cinnamon and swapped heavy cream for light sour cream. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States