Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I love this soup! I used a can of squash because I didn't have a fresh one and it still came out great! If you want milder ginger flavor, use a tbsp of fresh grated ginger. I wanted more so I doubled it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Just finished eating this very delicious soup. I suppouse that the basic recipe would have been just as good; however I always like to add my only twist to things. I added a bit more garlic since I am a huge fun of this lovely aromatic, also I chopped a bit of red chili peppers and sauteed with the galirc and onion. I used can pumpkin (only thing I had in hand) and a bunch of cilatro in the last 10 minutes of cooking. I thought really hard about not adding the cinnamon since is not very liked in my house, but I did and it really brought all the flavours together. Thank you so much for giving me an easy way to impress my guest without having to slave over a stove :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.WeinnerBlowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I was not a fan of the soup. The soup didn't have enough flavor for my liking. It was quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Delicious! Made a few changes, mostly out of necessity. Used the whole squash, had to use powdered ginger (probably about 1/8 tsp). I also used 3 cups broth as suggested by other reviewers, and the last cup of liquid I used 3/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup plain yogurt to give it a little tang. It was a great mix of flavors. Also, we added some crumbled bacon on top. The added salty-savory flavor really made it extra yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I really like this soup. I often boil my squash with thye carrots when i Dont have time to roast it. It tastes just as good! Also, I add curry powder to my soup instead of the cinnamon for a bit of zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Good soup, but needed a lot more ginger and I would advise that you use milk or water rather than cream. Otherwise it ends up tasting too sweet. I thought the texture was a bit chunky, so next time I would cook the carrots for a bit longer before putting them in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was very good, although I ended up with bits of fibrous ginger in the soup. It may have been a little older ginger. Next time I'll try grating the ginger rather than slicing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I love ginger, squash, and carrots, but this was WAY too gingery. We couldn't finish it, it was so strong, and it ended up being a waste of our food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I didn't have white pepper, or I would have used it... It has more zap than black. I liked this recipe, but I too found it a little bit lacking. I had to add a fair amount of salt to make it tasty, otherwise it just tasted like squash, mostly... It was fun to try for the first time, and I'll make it again, but I might use a vegetable broth instead of water and I'll get white pepper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
fantastic flavor, extremely lightweight. we really enjoy soups, especially on cold nights like we've had all week and this soup tasted fantastic - our only complaint is that it was so lightweight that even served alongside a big salad and chicken strips, it left us unsatisfied and scrounging for food for the rest of the evening. if you work out frequently, are pregnant or nursing, or otherwise have a high metabolism plan to serve this with a large meal. next time we'll try substituting cream for some of the water and adding more oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States