Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Rave reviews every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This soup is cheap to make, and it tastes amazing. Best of all, it's a very forgiving recipe. You can screw around a bit with the spices and still have an amazing final product. I'm allergic to milk, so I just stuck an immersion blender into my soup pot and pureed everything, then spiced it and let it simmer a bit longer to let the spices sink in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This soup was a very tasty departure from the kinds of flavors I normally gravitate toward. I used pre-cut, cubed butternut squash, available in the refrigerated part of the produce section. I tossed that with olive oil, salt and pepper, and several cloves of minced garlic, then roasted it in the oven for 35 minutes. While the butternut squash baked, I sauteed the onion and a couple cloves of garlic in olive oil, then added the chopped carrots to saute for another 4-5 minutes. I then combined ALL of the ingredients in a slow cooker, and cooked on a low heat for 5-6 hours, then pureed in my blender. (I should also mention that I used vegetable broth instead of plain water.) The depth of flavor was so fantastic that I didn't add the cream for fear of ruining what was already pretty perfect on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I've been looking for a good carrot soup recipe and this is it. The squash and the ginger give so much flavor to this soup. Consistency is good but could be adjusted. I didn't have heavy cream so added a bit of milk and served it with sour cream and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Excellent flavor and thickness. I used coconut oil instead of olive oil, roasted pumpkin instead of butternut squash, and stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crainny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this because we had a 25 lb. bag of carrots to use up! The soup came out fantastic. Everyone loved it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Way too much ginger taste and not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I thought this was delicious! I did cut the ginger a bit. I put the full amount in while the soup cooked and then I pulled out about a third of it before pureeing. I still thought it had a strong ginger flavor. Luckily I LOVE ginger. My husband didn't love it but he's still learning to enjoy veggies. I plan to make this recipe again soon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Great soup. I roast the carrots while I roast the squash, both in an inch or so of water, then use that water for the recipe, as it will hold more flavor and nutrients than water alone. I do use a combination of stock and water for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
What a great and easy soup! I left out the heavy cream and I replaced two cups of water with chicken broth (two cups water, two cups chicken broth). I also added a little more ginger then what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dunbarshawna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Lynn Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States