Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This soup is cheap to make, and it tastes amazing. Best of all, it's a very forgiving recipe. You can screw around a bit with the spices and still have an amazing final product. I'm allergic to milk, so I just stuck an immersion blender into my soup pot and pureed everything, then spiced it and let it simmer a bit longer to let the spices sink in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This soup was a very tasty departure from the kinds of flavors I normally gravitate toward. I used pre-cut, cubed butternut squash, available in the refrigerated part of the produce section. I tossed that with olive oil, salt and pepper, and several cloves of minced garlic, then roasted it in the oven for 35 minutes. While the butternut squash baked, I sauteed the onion and a couple cloves of garlic in olive oil, then added the chopped carrots to saute for another 4-5 minutes. I then combined ALL of the ingredients in a slow cooker, and cooked on a low heat for 5-6 hours, then pureed in my blender. (I should also mention that I used vegetable broth instead of plain water.) The depth of flavor was so fantastic that I didn't add the cream for fear of ruining what was already pretty perfect on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I've been looking for a good carrot soup recipe and this is it. The squash and the ginger give so much flavor to this soup. Consistency is good but could be adjusted. I didn't have heavy cream so added a bit of milk and served it with sour cream and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Excellent flavor and thickness. I used coconut oil instead of olive oil, roasted pumpkin instead of butternut squash, and stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crainny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this because we had a 25 lb. bag of carrots to use up! The soup came out fantastic. Everyone loved it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Way too much ginger taste and not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I thought this was delicious! I did cut the ginger a bit. I put the full amount in while the soup cooked and then I pulled out about a third of it before pureeing. I still thought it had a strong ginger flavor. Luckily I LOVE ginger. My husband didn't love it but he's still learning to enjoy veggies. I plan to make this recipe again soon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Great soup. I roast the carrots while I roast the squash, both in an inch or so of water, then use that water for the recipe, as it will hold more flavor and nutrients than water alone. I do use a combination of stock and water for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
What a great and easy soup! I left out the heavy cream and I replaced two cups of water with chicken broth (two cups water, two cups chicken broth). I also added a little more ginger then what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dunbarshawna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Lynn Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I made this to take to a private wine tasting and it was a definite hit. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding a bit more ginger. Fabulous, and it looks like something you expect to get in a fancy restaurant. Try it if you want to impress your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States