Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great recipe! I used butternut squash pre pealed and cubed from my fruit market, a heaping Tbs of powdered chicken soup base and a small portion of ground ginger paste. Cut down on the prep time and tasted wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I was really excited to try this soup, but I found it to be just ok. Very gingery and not much carrot flavour. I used fresh ingredients from the Farmer's Market, but it just wasn't all that great. I will eat the leftovers tomorrow though, and I like how healthy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Easy to make and taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Rave reviews every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This soup is cheap to make, and it tastes amazing. Best of all, it's a very forgiving recipe. You can screw around a bit with the spices and still have an amazing final product. I'm allergic to milk, so I just stuck an immersion blender into my soup pot and pureed everything, then spiced it and let it simmer a bit longer to let the spices sink in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This soup was a very tasty departure from the kinds of flavors I normally gravitate toward. I used pre-cut, cubed butternut squash, available in the refrigerated part of the produce section. I tossed that with olive oil, salt and pepper, and several cloves of minced garlic, then roasted it in the oven for 35 minutes. While the butternut squash baked, I sauteed the onion and a couple cloves of garlic in olive oil, then added the chopped carrots to saute for another 4-5 minutes. I then combined ALL of the ingredients in a slow cooker, and cooked on a low heat for 5-6 hours, then pureed in my blender. (I should also mention that I used vegetable broth instead of plain water.) The depth of flavor was so fantastic that I didn't add the cream for fear of ruining what was already pretty perfect on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I've been looking for a good carrot soup recipe and this is it. The squash and the ginger give so much flavor to this soup. Consistency is good but could be adjusted. I didn't have heavy cream so added a bit of milk and served it with sour cream and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Excellent flavor and thickness. I used coconut oil instead of olive oil, roasted pumpkin instead of butternut squash, and stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crainny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this because we had a 25 lb. bag of carrots to use up! The soup came out fantastic. Everyone loved it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States