Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I LOVE ginger, so added the full amount called for but it was the only flavor that came through. Very bitey. Maybe a case of winter vs spring ginger? Spring ginger has much less bite. With the addition of 1 and 1/2 butternuts and a second pound of carrots, I can slightly taste them. All that being said, once I balanced out the ginger, it was a great soup. Next time I plan to take the advice of "LeBlond"; I'll follow the recipe but put in big slices of ginger and remove half before the puree. That way I can taste it and add more ginger if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I absolutely love this soup! I added more cinnamon than the recipe called for, and it was delicious. My boyfriend doesn't like squash or cinnamon, but he actually enjoyed eating this! Oh, and it goes great with a grilled cheese sandwich :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Excellent and not difficult at all to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Loved this soup.....ok I have to admit I tweaked it a tad...but just a tad. I love cinnamon, good thing as I accidentally added about 2x too much....I think it was a great addition. I happened to use baby carrots, just because that's what I had. I also added two bullion cubes of no sodium chicken to the 4 cups of water just to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Excellent. Easy to make. I used fresh cooked pumpkin instead of squash. The family all liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beckwith Township, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Delish! The only changes I made were to remove the ginger pieces before blending (as recommended by other users), and I used veg stock in place of water. I also prefer to use plain Greek yogurt in place of heavy cream for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great recipe! I used butternut squash pre pealed and cubed from my fruit market, a heaping Tbs of powdered chicken soup base and a small portion of ground ginger paste. Cut down on the prep time and tasted wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I was really excited to try this soup, but I found it to be just ok. Very gingery and not much carrot flavour. I used fresh ingredients from the Farmer's Market, but it just wasn't all that great. I will eat the leftovers tomorrow though, and I like how healthy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Easy to make and taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States