Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Very nice soup. I followed advice of others, adding sour cream to cream soup, chicken broth white pepper. Have this with some home made bread. There is no regret to make something different on a cold evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Mmm..delightful! Substituted more carrots since I lacked butternut squash. Added a whisper of celery salt to the water and stirred in 3T of cream cheese at the end. Now that it is gone I realized I forgot to add cinnamon.. an excuse to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This recipe is amazing it is as close to perfection as it gets. I used an already peeled half butternut squash to save time and chopped the carrots in my vitamix blender-honestly it could not have been easier. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've made this recipe several times now and it always comes out well. I add plenty of ginger, probably more than this recipe calls for, but I also boil it all together for a lot longer than 20 minutes so that the ginger is super tender and purees well. I'm also not a fan of the cinnamon addition to this -- I think it makes the soup a little too sweet, but that's my own preference. I add cumin instead and it adds just a hint of a more smoky, savory flavor. I've also been known to serve with a dollop of sour cream on top--perfect soup for cold winter days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I LOVE ginger, so added the full amount called for but it was the only flavor that came through. Very bitey. Maybe a case of winter vs spring ginger? Spring ginger has much less bite. With the addition of 1 and 1/2 butternuts and a second pound of carrots, I can slightly taste them. All that being said, once I balanced out the ginger, it was a great soup. Next time I plan to take the advice of "LeBlond"; I'll follow the recipe but put in big slices of ginger and remove half before the puree. That way I can taste it and add more ginger if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I absolutely love this soup! I added more cinnamon than the recipe called for, and it was delicious. My boyfriend doesn't like squash or cinnamon, but he actually enjoyed eating this! Oh, and it goes great with a grilled cheese sandwich :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Excellent and not difficult at all to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Loved this soup.....ok I have to admit I tweaked it a tad...but just a tad. I love cinnamon, good thing as I accidentally added about 2x too much....I think it was a great addition. I happened to use baby carrots, just because that's what I had. I also added two bullion cubes of no sodium chicken to the 4 cups of water just to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Boerner Lay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Excellent. Easy to make. I used fresh cooked pumpkin instead of squash. The family all liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beckwith Township, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Delish! The only changes I made were to remove the ginger pieces before blending (as recommended by other users), and I used veg stock in place of water. I also prefer to use plain Greek yogurt in place of heavy cream for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States