Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
When making this recipe I noticed the 4 cups of water on the list and thought "darnit, I don't have any chicken broth!" I had also read that other viewers had the same inclination to use chicken broth rather than water. So I went ahead and used the water because I didn't want to make a special trip to the store just for that ingredient. I am SO glad I didn't because it didn't need it! The soup was wonderful and flavorful. Some reviews said it was bland but I beg to differ! Also some said the ginger flavor was too over powering. I, again, disagree! I followed the recipe exactly and I am so glad I did! No changes necessary on this one! Thanks for the recipe. I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
It was lovely to find a soup with very clean, clear, and simple flavours -- it didn't need more spice, which would have detracted from the individual nuances of the vegetables and the ginger. For those who found it lacking in flavour, make sure that the ingredients used are of highest quality -- organic, fully ripened, rich in colour -- and the difference should be noticable. I must say I liked the thickness, which is easily adjusted for different occasions. A variation I tried and liked: simmer the squash intead of baking it, and add the cooking liquid to the soup instead of plain water; add 2 cups thoroughly cooked red split lentels; add a dash of nutmeg and a dash of gharam masala; and a touch of fresh lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Loved this recipe! I did however as suggested in some of the reviews use chicken broth instead of water and I used low fat sour cream( 1 tablespoon) to make the soup creamy. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I've made this four times now and each time has been a success. Very tasty and easy! To enrich the soup use clarified butter instead of evoo and use quality chicken stock instead of water. To mellow out the ginger, try leaving it in large slices and then removing about half before the final puree. I've taken to using white pepper instead of black, this adds to the flavor and appearance - no little black specs floating around. I've also increased the cinnamon but . . . add slowly and stir well to bring the flavor up. It should be a quiet after thought on the palate not the first introduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I love this soup. I added a teaspoon of orange zest, the juice of one orange and doubled the amount of ginger. My ten month old couldn't get enough of it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Collaroy, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This is definately a "ginger lovers" soup. I enjoyed it but am not certain I would confidently serve it to company unless I knew they liked ginger also. I ended up adding the other half of the squash and added one can of chicken broth to thin the soup out and give the soup more depth and flavor and without the additional liquid it was too thick. I too needed to add lots of salt and about a teaspoon of sugar (I guess my carrots and squash weren't too sweet). The cream definately added another dimension and the taste was wonderful with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I agree with bananafish below -- this was a delicious soup with delicate yet vibrant flavors! I added a small amount of chopped fresh sage to this soup and it was a nice, compatible addition. Also, I crushed the soup with a potato masher rather than blending it in a processor, and I think this chunky soft texture was perfect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
really great soup! i made it with out the squash and it was great. and very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Thanks for sharing this wonderfully delicious, nutritious and satisfying soup. I loved it so much, I made it twice in one week. Add a nice salad & crusty bread and you're on the road to healthy eating!!! Beats all those soups out there that call for canned broth!! If you have other recipes on this order, please share them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Great soup. I roast the carrots while I roast the squash, both in an inch or so of water, then use that water for the recipe, as it will hold more flavor and nutrients than water alone. I do use a combination of stock and water for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States