Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Thanks for sharing this wonderfully delicious, nutritious and satisfying soup. I loved it so much, I made it twice in one week. Add a nice salad & crusty bread and you're on the road to healthy eating!!! Beats all those soups out there that call for canned broth!! If you have other recipes on this order, please share them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
Myself and my 3 year old enjoyed this, but my husband and 20 month old did not. It took a lot of prep work, so I would probably not make it often, but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I've had carrot ginger soup at restaurants and often wanted to make my own. This recipe is excellent - exactly as I had hoped it would be. It's clean and simple, comfort food at its best. As for the long prep time, it's really worth it, and it's no more onerous than most soups are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
My husband and I both liked this soup very much. In my version, I only used one clove of garlic. I also used three heaping tb spoons of cream cheese and 1/3 cup of half & half instead of heavy cream. We added some majoram, cayenne, cumin and a touch of tumeric. My husband added a bit more cinnamon and ground clove. Both of our versions turned out great. If you like your soup thick, 4 cups of liquid might be a little too much. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
It was a little thick, but absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This soup did take a lot of prep work, but it was tasty. I love the flavors of this soup. However, I was not a fan of the pureed texture, next time I will not mix it in the blender at the end, it reminded me of baby food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLOVE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
hearty and delicious. my dad loved it. the butternut is so creamy and the ginger really knocked the cold i had out of my system. try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
very good! To use what I had on hand- I changed it a bit. Everything the same but I used Butternut squash soup that I had purchased at Trader Joes. I also threw in some leftover chicken broth in place of some of the water(from last nights chicken dinner). I felt the prep work was minimal. I used my blender to puree. Just plan to cook the butternut squash the day before or earlier in the day. If you do that, then you will have the soup done from start to finish in less than 30 minutes. Thanks for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This soup was good. Next time I will need to adjust the spices or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
i followed the directions exactly, except i used extra squash so i wouldnt waste it,and added just a dash of whole milk to the blender before puree-ing the veggies from the soup pot, and it came out absolutely perfect. Thanks, Richard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States