Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is a great recipe. 2 small changes that i made: As another reviewer mentioned, I took a few chunks of the ginger out of the soup before I blended it together and it still had plenty of ginger flavor. The second time I made this soup, I added 3 T. of butter to the soup before I blended it together and it took the soup from good to great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is a great soup! I am looking forward to making it again on a cool fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I love carrot ginger soup and chose this recipe because of the great reviews it has listed. I wouldn't have thought to add cinnamon so that was a great touch. I used half water and half coconut milk as my liquid base which eliminates the need for the cream and gives a wonderfully rich flavour. For a little variation, add some chopped fresh cilantro from your herb garden and squeeze in some fresh lime - makes it a different kind of yummy. For winter I like to add a tblspn or two of smooth peanut butter to the original recipe - something I've always done with squash & pumpkin soups. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
The best soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Ruelas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I used this recently because I needed some ideas of what to do with the pulp from my juicer after making a combination of kale, beet greens, and carrot juice with ginger. It was a perfect guideline. I first olive-oiled the pulp in a cast iron skillet to get the water out (high heat, turning for 10 minutes), then used veggie broth to supplement for taste. It was terrific, and I didn't have to compost the pulp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I didn't have any squash because I also wanted some extra carbs for my young kids--so I boiled a yam, added cilatro to my boiling carrots (for extra flavour)and added some coconut milk when blending all together...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Was good and unique, however I found it a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WONDERHEATHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I doubled the recipe and thought it tasted quite carrot-y. I liked the ginger, though took a little bit out before pureeing like some others suggested. I added more than a dash of cinnamon. Perhaps a bit of cayenne pepper to give more taste on my next batch?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Tops! I used half chicken broth & half water for richness. For a shortcut, I bought a bag of frozen organic butternut squash and omitted the first step. I also like more ginger, because we wanted something for after the Thanksgiving feast that would help our digestive tract! Served with half and half at the bottom of the bowl and topped with parmesan. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States