Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Ive made this soup twice now. I like it better with a whole squash and about 3/4 lb carrots. i substitued chick stock for water and kept the amount of ginger because i love ginger. the cream/milk is optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is a healthy and easy soup that tastes great. The only change I made was to use garlic powder instead of garlic cloves. Next time I would use less water, both to thicken the soup and to increase the flavor. I didn't have any heavy cream so I added a bit of cream cheese to my first bowl. Bad idea! This is not a cheese-friendly soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natashaelise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I never had butternut squash soup in my life, neither had my husband. I bought a b-nut squash as part of my new "One New Veggie Every Week" diet, and decided to try this one first...RIGHT CHOICE! I didn't have fresh ginger so I used a nice big piece of crystallized ginger. We liked it with a bit more cinnamon, I mixed in about 1/8 tsp. right b4 serving .... OUTSTANDING! BRAVO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrotheadTink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I'm a soupaholic and this is one of the very best soups I've ever made! I substituted chicken broth in place of water, which is much better in most soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanceebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Yummy! I also added about a teaspoon of nutmeg, and a pinch of brown sugar. Like a bowl of warm sunshine on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Spectacular! Excellent recipe, exactly the starting point I was looking for. Two minor deviations: I was really generous with the ginger and added about a cup of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Loved the cinnamon but use sparingly. Used 2 small sweet potatoes instead of butternut squash...very good...heavy cream makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Yummy and perfect for those miserable winter days to warm you up and give you a little kick! I left out the creamand also the cinnamon, but added a few basil leaves and more ginger than listed as i love it and it tastes just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Fantastic flavor and luxurious, velvety texture. I did add a vegetable bouillon cube when I added the water. I didn't use the optional cream either so this was suitable for vegans. Everyone loved this soup and I'll make it again. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I can't get enough of this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WordsWorth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States