Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I have made this a couple of times and I love it. It's so simple and delicious. I have not made many tweaks to the recipe because it's wonderful on it's own, but I use a little bit of skim or 1/2% milk rather than heavy cream, and it still adds the creaminess I like without the fat. I'm tempted to add some butter, but it's so much healthier without and it's wonderful as is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was excellent! I used 2 packets of chicken bouillon (for 2 of the 4 cups of water), and didn't have butternut squash so used 3 small yellow and orange peppers and cooked those with the onions. I also added 1/4 teaspoon cumin and a heaping 1/2 teaspoon turmeric and 4 cloves of crushed garlic instead of 3. Very flavorful!!! I topped it off with chopped cilantro and a dollop of greek yogurt- no cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I found that there was too much ginger in it ; it should probably be measured in tablespoons rather than inches. My ginger knob was probably much thicker than the regular pieces. The soup had a lovely flavour ! I added home made chicken broth instead of water & a can of coconut milk instead of heavy cream. My guests enjoyed it & I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Excellent soup. Made the soup as written, and the family loved it. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Recipe is simple, easy to follow, and results in a great soup. I will say that I added half of the ginger called for in the recipe and STILL found it a little overpowering. I might cook more carrots and add the other half of the butternut squash to mellow it out a bit. Anyway, I'll also mention that I used water (not chicken broth) as instructed and it was great. Good for vegetarian friends and for controlling the amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Amazing! I doubled the recipe because I love to freeze stuff, added a can of lite coconut milk, cumin, cinnamon & nutmeg. I think I might use some flour because w the coconut milk and half a little thing of shipping cream it actually seems a teensy bit thin. But the flavors are awesome! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Very nice soup. I followed advice of others, adding sour cream to cream soup, chicken broth white pepper. Have this with some home made bread. There is no regret to make something different on a cold evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Thurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Mmm..delightful! Substituted more carrots since I lacked butternut squash. Added a whisper of celery salt to the water and stirred in 3T of cream cheese at the end. Now that it is gone I realized I forgot to add cinnamon.. an excuse to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This recipe is amazing it is as close to perfection as it gets. I used an already peeled half butternut squash to save time and chopped the carrots in my vitamix blender-honestly it could not have been easier. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've made this recipe several times now and it always comes out well. I add plenty of ginger, probably more than this recipe calls for, but I also boil it all together for a lot longer than 20 minutes so that the ginger is super tender and purees well. I'm also not a fan of the cinnamon addition to this -- I think it makes the soup a little too sweet, but that's my own preference. I add cumin instead and it adds just a hint of a more smoky, savory flavor. I've also been known to serve with a dollop of sour cream on top--perfect soup for cold winter days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States