Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Loved this recipe! I did however as suggested in some of the reviews use chicken broth instead of water and I used low fat sour cream( 1 tablespoon) to make the soup creamy. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This is definately a "ginger lovers" soup. I enjoyed it but am not certain I would confidently serve it to company unless I knew they liked ginger also. I ended up adding the other half of the squash and added one can of chicken broth to thin the soup out and give the soup more depth and flavor and without the additional liquid it was too thick. I too needed to add lots of salt and about a teaspoon of sugar (I guess my carrots and squash weren't too sweet). The cream definately added another dimension and the taste was wonderful with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
oh this soup was just incredible! I was able to take the few ingredients i had in my apartment and whip up an impressive delicious soup. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Enjoyed this soup. I used a small dollop of low fat sour cream and a small bit of skim milk instead of the heavy cream. Very satisfying with a bread and cheese sandwich. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I suggest this wonderful variation... Add some coconut milk! This is also good cold, and some toasted pumpernickel croutons is another great garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I had a fun time making this! I didn't feel like it took too long at all. It's a pretty good soup when made directly from the recipe, but like others, I felt that 4 cups of water may be alittle too much. Also, I thought that the cream was essential. So much, in fact, that I added it to the whole pot, not just in the individual bowls. I also felt that I added A LOT of salt, but that could just be me. Definitely worth the try, but I may try another since I am on the quest to find the best carrot soup out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I am addicted to this soup! It is wonderful. I use 1/3 cup half & half instead of the heavy cream, per a suggestion in the reviews, and also use organic chicken stock instead of the water. Easy to make & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WYSIWYG
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Made this today, and it was fabulous. The cream is a MUST, really brings out the flavor of the cinnamon and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This soup is so awesome. I make it whenever my boyfriend or i are sick and the ginger clears our sinouses! I've made it with different kinds of squahes and it's always really good. It's so simple and delicious, everyone I make it for, loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
i followed the directions exactly, except i used extra squash so i wouldnt waste it,and added just a dash of whole milk to the blender before puree-ing the veggies from the soup pot, and it came out absolutely perfect. Thanks, Richard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States