Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
It was lovely to find a soup with very clean, clear, and simple flavours -- it didn't need more spice, which would have detracted from the individual nuances of the vegetables and the ginger. For those who found it lacking in flavour, make sure that the ingredients used are of highest quality -- organic, fully ripened, rich in colour -- and the difference should be noticable. I must say I liked the thickness, which is easily adjusted for different occasions. A variation I tried and liked: simmer the squash intead of baking it, and add the cooking liquid to the soup instead of plain water; add 2 cups thoroughly cooked red split lentels; add a dash of nutmeg and a dash of gharam masala; and a touch of fresh lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
great soup...i didnt add any cream to it, to keep it vegan...but some salt i thought it needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Ths soup was absoutely wonderful. I did however use a little less of the ginger only because ginger can have a very strong flavor. I Served it at a big gathering of about 80 women. The vote was about half and halfo f those who loved it and who didn't. But I loved it and will be making it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I found it had little flavour other than the ginger. I think I may have over-seasoned it, which didn't help, but only because it didn't have much flavour when I tried it. Others who had it loved it though. Worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I made this soup for me & my boyfriend, and we loved it so much we ate it all in one sitting. Followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't use any heavy cream. But I did swirl a tiny bit of half and half over the top of the soup for aesthetic reasons. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
really great soup! i made it with out the squash and it was great. and very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Loved this recipe! I did however as suggested in some of the reviews use chicken broth instead of water and I used low fat sour cream( 1 tablespoon) to make the soup creamy. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This is definately a "ginger lovers" soup. I enjoyed it but am not certain I would confidently serve it to company unless I knew they liked ginger also. I ended up adding the other half of the squash and added one can of chicken broth to thin the soup out and give the soup more depth and flavor and without the additional liquid it was too thick. I too needed to add lots of salt and about a teaspoon of sugar (I guess my carrots and squash weren't too sweet). The cream definately added another dimension and the taste was wonderful with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
oh this soup was just incredible! I was able to take the few ingredients i had in my apartment and whip up an impressive delicious soup. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Enjoyed this soup. I used a small dollop of low fat sour cream and a small bit of skim milk instead of the heavy cream. Very satisfying with a bread and cheese sandwich. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States