Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is a wonderful soup! My family loved it. The only thing I did differently was I used 2 tsp of minced ginger instead of the fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
We liked it alright. My 4 year old daughter, who LOVES the butternut squash soup recipe from this site, didn't like this one at all. I dunno... I guess the ginger was a bit strong -- and I only used about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
My family just ate this up (literally, hehe)! I used half vegetable stock, half water, and substituted half of the onion for leek (since we're not too big on strong onion in my family), and part of the squash was acorn squash, since we didn't have enough butternut. I agree with another reviewer that you definitely have to like ginger to like the soup. I didn't even use all that the recipe called for and it was too strong for me, but my family likes ginger better than I do, so it was great to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I love this soup. I added a teaspoon of orange zest, the juice of one orange and doubled the amount of ginger. My ten month old couldn't get enough of it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Collaroy, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I loved the flavors in this soup! Plus, it was very easy to make. For a quicker, easier way to cook the squash, I recommend microwaving it for a few minutes at a time with just a little bit of water (just enough to cover the bottom) in a microwavable container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Great overall! Not particulalry simple to make as the squash takes a while to cook. I thought the ginger was quite subtle and I could have added more, but I love ginger. I loved the thick rustic texture of it. Very lovely soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Very subtle flavor-next time I would use more garlic and/or onion. Seems like we had to add a lot of salt/pepper. But it was a nice flavor and very different. My old blender did a fine job of pureeing the ginger, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETEANDKRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Very disappointed - all I could taste was the ginger and I didn't even use the entire amount called for. If I did make this again, which I doubt, I would also use ground ginger since ginger does not puree very well. Bits of ginger throughout the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I just finished making this soup and am so impressed with quality and the flavors. I used chicken broth instead of water which made it more savoury. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
What a great recipe! I'm not a huge fan of cooked carrot so I just made it with more squash instead and it was perfect. The cinnamon and cream are amazing touches. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States