Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I added I bit too much ginger. I doubled the recipe so I added coconut oil (about 3 tablespoons) while on lower temp. It tasted fantastic. This is a soup I will make again with the coconut oil again as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I used a full butternut squash and powdered garlic because we were out of fresh. It turned our great! I agree that there's plenty of flavor and stock is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
added leaks and thyme and swapped out water for veggie broth and light coconut milk for cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Delicious! My changes: I used yellow squash because my store was out of butternut and I used a full one instead of half. I also used half an onion cause my onion was really large. Those were my only changes and it came out amazing! I can't wait to try it with butternut instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Mammoth Lakes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I have made this a couple of times and I love it. It's so simple and delicious. I have not made many tweaks to the recipe because it's wonderful on it's own, but I use a little bit of skim or 1/2% milk rather than heavy cream, and it still adds the creaminess I like without the fat. I'm tempted to add some butter, but it's so much healthier without and it's wonderful as is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was excellent! I used 2 packets of chicken bouillon (for 2 of the 4 cups of water), and didn't have butternut squash so used 3 small yellow and orange peppers and cooked those with the onions. I also added 1/4 teaspoon cumin and a heaping 1/2 teaspoon turmeric and 4 cloves of crushed garlic instead of 3. Very flavorful!!! I topped it off with chopped cilantro and a dollop of greek yogurt- no cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I found that there was too much ginger in it ; it should probably be measured in tablespoons rather than inches. My ginger knob was probably much thicker than the regular pieces. The soup had a lovely flavour ! I added home made chicken broth instead of water & a can of coconut milk instead of heavy cream. My guests enjoyed it & I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Excellent soup. Made the soup as written, and the family loved it. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Recipe is simple, easy to follow, and results in a great soup. I will say that I added half of the ginger called for in the recipe and STILL found it a little overpowering. I might cook more carrots and add the other half of the butternut squash to mellow it out a bit. Anyway, I'll also mention that I used water (not chicken broth) as instructed and it was great. Good for vegetarian friends and for controlling the amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Amazing! I doubled the recipe because I love to freeze stuff, added a can of lite coconut milk, cumin, cinnamon & nutmeg. I think I might use some flour because w the coconut milk and half a little thing of shipping cream it actually seems a teensy bit thin. But the flavors are awesome! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States