Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was excellent! I used 2 packets of chicken bouillon (for 2 of the 4 cups of water), and didn't have butternut squash so used 3 small yellow and orange peppers and cooked those with the onions. I also added 1/4 teaspoon cumin and a heaping 1/2 teaspoon turmeric and 4 cloves of crushed garlic instead of 3. Very flavorful!!! I topped it off with chopped cilantro and a dollop of greek yogurt- no cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I found that there was too much ginger in it ; it should probably be measured in tablespoons rather than inches. My ginger knob was probably much thicker than the regular pieces. The soup had a lovely flavour ! I added home made chicken broth instead of water & a can of coconut milk instead of heavy cream. My guests enjoyed it & I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Excellent soup. Made the soup as written, and the family loved it. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Recipe is simple, easy to follow, and results in a great soup. I will say that I added half of the ginger called for in the recipe and STILL found it a little overpowering. I might cook more carrots and add the other half of the butternut squash to mellow it out a bit. Anyway, I'll also mention that I used water (not chicken broth) as instructed and it was great. Good for vegetarian friends and for controlling the amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Amazing! I doubled the recipe because I love to freeze stuff, added a can of lite coconut milk, cumin, cinnamon & nutmeg. I think I might use some flour because w the coconut milk and half a little thing of shipping cream it actually seems a teensy bit thin. But the flavors are awesome! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Very nice soup. I followed advice of others, adding sour cream to cream soup, chicken broth white pepper. Have this with some home made bread. There is no regret to make something different on a cold evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Mmm..delightful! Substituted more carrots since I lacked butternut squash. Added a whisper of celery salt to the water and stirred in 3T of cream cheese at the end. Now that it is gone I realized I forgot to add cinnamon.. an excuse to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This recipe is amazing it is as close to perfection as it gets. I used an already peeled half butternut squash to save time and chopped the carrots in my vitamix blender-honestly it could not have been easier. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've made this recipe several times now and it always comes out well. I add plenty of ginger, probably more than this recipe calls for, but I also boil it all together for a lot longer than 20 minutes so that the ginger is super tender and purees well. I'm also not a fan of the cinnamon addition to this -- I think it makes the soup a little too sweet, but that's my own preference. I add cumin instead and it adds just a hint of a more smoky, savory flavor. I've also been known to serve with a dollop of sour cream on top--perfect soup for cold winter days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I LOVE ginger, so added the full amount called for but it was the only flavor that came through. Very bitey. Maybe a case of winter vs spring ginger? Spring ginger has much less bite. With the addition of 1 and 1/2 butternuts and a second pound of carrots, I can slightly taste them. All that being said, once I balanced out the ginger, it was a great soup. Next time I plan to take the advice of "LeBlond"; I'll follow the recipe but put in big slices of ginger and remove half before the puree. That way I can taste it and add more ginger if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States