Carrot and Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Really enjoyed this. I left out the fennel seeds because I didn't have any, and used Half & Half. Quick and easy with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I love the combination of fennel and carrot, but I left out the cream in this recipe because I try to avoid dairy. I added a splash of white wine and it was very yummy, I had fennel and 3 carrots in the house and not much else, so this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I agree with Sonia S.'s review: adding spices makes this unbelievably yummy. What I did differently was (1) I rubbed the stainless steel pot I was using with a stick of butter and cooked 1/2 of a diced onion until it was just browning and (2) added a little more butter (maybe 1 tbsp) when I put in the diced fennel. I cooked this for a little bit and then (3)added the carrots I had painstakingly grated (Grating added at least 6 min to the prep time for me)with no more than 1 tbsp of butter, making sure the pot was coated. After adding these three components I added (4) 1/2 tsp turmeric, 1/2 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp garam masala, and then I added the 1/3 cup of cream (5) I didn't use the spices listed in this recipe, so I can't comment on their contributions to flavor. After stirring in the cream, I put a dollop onto a piece of plain bread (I didn't have any rice handy, which it would have been peRFEct with)-- it was pretty good except it was missing salt. (6) So, I added a light sprinkle--- no more than 1/8 tsp of salt which did the trick for me--- to the entire mixture-- and it became even yummier! I definitely recommend adding the spices and eating this with rice-- this is a wonderful recipe because of its simplicity and the ability to improvise with it, and still have it come out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I am a huge fan of healthy, unique recipes. But this pretty much tastes like steamed carrots (which would have been much faster).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Although I didn't like this at all - too heavy, almost sweet, with a lingering aftertaste, too much of carrot and not enough of fennel - my wife did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This... what I will call a slaw... was fantastic. And just when I'd decided that I didn't like fennel (it tastes totally different raw). Per others' recommendations, I also added garam masala and a bit of salt, and then I totally forgot about the heavy cream, and it was STILL fantastic! Can't wait to try it with the cream! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is the first time I've ever used fennel. This recipe is so delicious. I didn't have fennel seeds, so just used a tiny bit of ground coriander as seasoning, along with salt and pepper. I'll be making this again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Delicious! I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Was surprisingly good. I used almond milk instead of heavy cream since I'm on a dairy free diet right now and coconut oil instead of olive oil. I also added some salt and pepper at the end. I could see this making a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Love this recipe, made it several times!! Last time had no coriander so used a "curry" grinder of spices that had 21% coriander plus fennel & other spices. Worked well, just a bit more spicy than original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States