Carrot and Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This was really good! My daughter who claims she hates fennel ate it off her plate before she touched anything else. When I asked her how she liked it, she said it was awesome and wanted to know if there was more. When I told her it was fennel she was very surprised and it is now one of her favorite vegetable dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This has a great blend of flavors. I didn't have cream, so used evaporated milk instead. As other reviewers recommended, I added a little butter just before serving. We will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Really enjoyed this. I left out the fennel seeds because I didn't have any, and used Half & Half. Quick and easy with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I love the combination of fennel and carrot, but I left out the cream in this recipe because I try to avoid dairy. I added a splash of white wine and it was very yummy, I had fennel and 3 carrots in the house and not much else, so this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I agree with Sonia S.'s review: adding spices makes this unbelievably yummy. What I did differently was (1) I rubbed the stainless steel pot I was using with a stick of butter and cooked 1/2 of a diced onion until it was just browning and (2) added a little more butter (maybe 1 tbsp) when I put in the diced fennel. I cooked this for a little bit and then (3)added the carrots I had painstakingly grated (Grating added at least 6 min to the prep time for me)with no more than 1 tbsp of butter, making sure the pot was coated. After adding these three components I added (4) 1/2 tsp turmeric, 1/2 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp garam masala, and then I added the 1/3 cup of cream (5) I didn't use the spices listed in this recipe, so I can't comment on their contributions to flavor. After stirring in the cream, I put a dollop onto a piece of plain bread (I didn't have any rice handy, which it would have been peRFEct with)-- it was pretty good except it was missing salt. (6) So, I added a light sprinkle--- no more than 1/8 tsp of salt which did the trick for me--- to the entire mixture-- and it became even yummier! I definitely recommend adding the spices and eating this with rice-- this is a wonderful recipe because of its simplicity and the ability to improvise with it, and still have it come out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I am a huge fan of healthy, unique recipes. But this pretty much tastes like steamed carrots (which would have been much faster).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Although I didn't like this at all - too heavy, almost sweet, with a lingering aftertaste, too much of carrot and not enough of fennel - my wife did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This... what I will call a slaw... was fantastic. And just when I'd decided that I didn't like fennel (it tastes totally different raw). Per others' recommendations, I also added garam masala and a bit of salt, and then I totally forgot about the heavy cream, and it was STILL fantastic! Can't wait to try it with the cream! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is the first time I've ever used fennel. This recipe is so delicious. I didn't have fennel seeds, so just used a tiny bit of ground coriander as seasoning, along with salt and pepper. I'll be making this again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Delicious! I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States