Carrot and Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Was surprisingly good. I used almond milk instead of heavy cream since I'm on a dairy free diet right now and coconut oil instead of olive oil. I also added some salt and pepper at the end. I could see this making a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Love this recipe, made it several times!! Last time had no coriander so used a "curry" grinder of spices that had 21% coriander plus fennel & other spices. Worked well, just a bit more spicy than original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Delightful! Things I did differently: I roasted all of it in the oven together before putting it in a saucepan, because I had the oven on to roast other veggies too. I used soy milk because we can't do dairy. I bet it would be wonderful cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Good but very heavy - would be good in the winter, perhaps with some fresh mushrooms added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Very tasty. I used 4 large carrots thinly sliced instead of shredded. Large fennel bulb, minus the stalks and leaf-y things. For seasoning I used 1/4 tsp. coriander & fennel & turmeric, 1/2 tsp. seasoned salt & garam masala & garlic powder & chili flakes. Increased the cream to 1/2 cup as we like out dishes a little sauce-y. I would probably use fresh onion and garlic next time. This could use some pepper too. Not sure how I'd like this as a soup, but it tastes great as a side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Prepared just like the recipe and I'm getting ready to make it again for a pot luck. A bit different than the usual fare at a pot luck but I think everyone will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I don't like cooked carrots, but I enjoyed this. My husband, on the other hand, who loves cooked carrots, didn't like it at first, but it grew on him. I used coconut oil and coconut milk, and I even added some dried unsweetened coconut, and I simmered it covered for about 20 minutes to absorb all the liquid. I think this would be good with caramelized onions and topped with fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Lovely..... my girlfriend cooked this for me using coconut milk instead of cream as i have a dairy intolerence and it was gorgeous and tasty like her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I just finished making this and it really is very delicious. I used fat free evaporated milk and it worked perfectly! I did add some salt and two tblsp. butter to add to the taste...lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
lovely soup. will eliminate the fresh coriandar next time as they seemed a little overpowering.but the toasted seeds were nice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Nwankwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States