Carrot and Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I made this into soup - I pureed everything together - and it was fabulous! I left out the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is so yummy! I added a 1/2 chopped onion, 1/2 tspn of salt, 1/2 tspn of red pepper, 1/2 tspn of garam masala, and 1/2 tspn of turmeric powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michiganfoodie
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Wonderful recipe, my husband and I both loved it. Has a natural sweetness due to the cooked carrots and fennel bulb. I made this recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Really excellent. Needed a good helping of salt and pepper, and turned out great. I used some butter and whole milk (had no cream), and eventually needed to increase the amount of butter/whole milk to 3-4T/1c to give it the creaminess it seemed like it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Loved it!! Making it again for Thanksgiving. The only changes I made where a) I used half and half instead of cream, and b) I added a splash of dry sherry with the half and half. I served it family style, topped with chopped fennel tops and lemon slices. It looks as good as it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I added chicken broth to make it into soup. I omitted the fennel seeds as I find them rather soapy-tasting compared to fresh fennel. Turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I just finished making this and it really is very delicious. I used fat free evaporated milk and it worked perfectly! I did add some salt and two tblsp. butter to add to the taste...lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Yummy! I omitted the fennel seeds and added a little garam masala spice. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used milk and butter instead. Lovely flavor but I think next time I'll use some coconut milk in place of the cream. Hubby really enjoyed it as well. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Wonderful recipe; can't wait to make again. I didn't have coriander, so I used curry powder, I substituted 1/4 C. half-n-half for the 1/3 C. heavy cream and I used just a scant 1/4 t. anise seed. How fun it is to try a new veggie (fennel)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenisland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
lovely soup. will eliminate the fresh coriandar next time as they seemed a little overpowering.but the toasted seeds were nice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States