Carrot and Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Loved it!! Making it again for Thanksgiving. The only changes I made where a) I used half and half instead of cream, and b) I added a splash of dry sherry with the half and half. I served it family style, topped with chopped fennel tops and lemon slices. It looks as good as it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I needed to use the fennel I got with my CSA so I made this. It was really easy and really good. I used half-and-half instead of cream and needed >1/3 cup. I'll definitely make this again the next time I have fennel to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I made this into soup - I pureed everything together - and it was fabulous! I left out the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is so yummy! I added a 1/2 chopped onion, 1/2 tspn of salt, 1/2 tspn of red pepper, 1/2 tspn of garam masala, and 1/2 tspn of turmeric powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I admit I am easy to please, but this recipe is the best! Easy to do, and oh, so tasty. Will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Yummy! I omitted the fennel seeds and added a little garam masala spice. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used milk and butter instead. Lovely flavor but I think next time I'll use some coconut milk in place of the cream. Hubby really enjoyed it as well. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Really excellent. Needed a good helping of salt and pepper, and turned out great. I used some butter and whole milk (had no cream), and eventually needed to increase the amount of butter/whole milk to 3-4T/1c to give it the creaminess it seemed like it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michiganfoodie
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Wonderful recipe, my husband and I both loved it. Has a natural sweetness due to the cooked carrots and fennel bulb. I made this recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I added chicken broth to make it into soup. I omitted the fennel seeds as I find them rather soapy-tasting compared to fresh fennel. Turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Wonderful recipe; can't wait to make again. I didn't have coriander, so I used curry powder, I substituted 1/4 C. half-n-half for the 1/3 C. heavy cream and I used just a scant 1/4 t. anise seed. How fun it is to try a new veggie (fennel)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenisland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States